Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
22
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 July 2017
My now 3 year old daughter absolutely enjoys the stories. Just the right length to keep her attention. Well received
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
Absolutely perfect!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Enjoyable story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2008
from the 'Usborne Young Reading' series of books, which combines good stories with easy reading text.

This particular book is from SERIES ONE, and contains THREE stories, namely:

~ The Ghostly Galleon
~ The Missing Pearl
~ The Dancing Mermaid

From the back cover:

'Dive into the undersea world of mermaids and join in their amazing adventures.
Harmony braves the spooky Pirates' Graveyard.
Marina takes on her rivals in the Great Seahorse Race.
And dance-crazy Coral makes a bargain with King Neptune.'

An attractive cover opens to 48 high quality, shiny pages in the popular 2-page spread format.
Numbered pages.
Beautifully illustrated throughout, this book is further enhanced by relevant expressions and some speech bubbles.
Clear, easy-to-follow-text.

Example of text (from the first story):

'Harmony lived with her mother at the very bottom of the ocean.
They were so poor they could only afford a tiny cave. This was cramped, dark and very cold. It froze their fins and took the shine off their scales. Harmony tried to keep up their spirits by singing beautiful songs. Her voice was so enchanting that passing fish had to stop and listen...'

And this talent proves very useful, not to mention profitable, when poor Harmony's mother is under the weather and Harmony has to go and find some 'polkadot seaweed'...in the Pirates' Graveyard!
Eek!

But, don't worry...all is well that ends well!
review image review image
11 Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2010
Disappointed regarding book size, however beautifully illustrated and glossy finish. 6year old daughter loves it and finds text easy to read.Stories of Mermaids (Young Reading (Series 1))
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
great book , my 6 year old daughter loves reading it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
Very colourful and was bought for my great-nieces birthday as she loves anything to do with mermaids, she's well pleased
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
My 7yrs old daughter finished reading it in less than 30 minutes while my (almost) 5yrs old flipped through it and asked me to read it to her.

Illustrations are beautiful and colorful enough to catch and sustain children's attention. Book size is just alright for little hands to hold. Speech bubbles brought smiles to my girls' faces.

The attached bookmark is also a much appreciated addition - no need to buy one.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2012
My daughter and I love reading the four mermaid stories in this lovely little hardback book. Perfect for bedtime and for escaping to a magical world.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
I ordered this for my niece who loves mermaids, I was dissapointed with the size of the book, but it is lovely to read & is well illustrated & colourful, my niece loved it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse