Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
28
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Spiral-bound|Change
Price:£10.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 January 2010
I bought this for my step-daughter who has just turned 10, and is really interested in cookery. I was concerned that the illustrations might be too childish for her, but the book is so well done. The step-by-step instructions are brilliant for kids to follow, and there is a great section on preparation. There are a great range of recipes, from basic to slightly more involved, so allows for some progression. I think this is one she will return to again and again for the basics. I'm very pleased with my purchase, and just so you know, the profiteroles are delicious!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2010
This was my first cookbook at the age of about 8 - and I still have it! The recipes are very easy to follow, don't require a lot of pots and pans, and the results are tasty! My favourite recipe is apple crumble, and for nostalgia reasons also Eggy Bread! (though of course I don't need the book for that...)

The pictures are more like mini-cartoons but are certainly no less helpful than photographs, and the cheery people adorning each page cannot fail to make you smile.

I am very much looking forward to my friends children being old enough to appreciate this and it will be in many christmas stockings in a few years time!

Well done Usborne!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2008
The recipes are great, I regularly make cakes based on the recipes provided in the original 1987 printing of the book.

A word of caution however, I recently bought this for a niece and found that the the Spiral Bound edition of the book is an American edition. The American Edition uses American measurements and ingredients, ie. cups and corn syrup. I believe that the paperback is an English edition, it has proper weight measurements in both metric and imperial and uses ingredients like golden syrup.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2010
Just to echo the other review that the hardback (spiralbound) version uses AMERICAN measurements & ingredients. (e.g. cups instead of gramms & zucchini instead of courgette etc....)

It is mildly irritating to have to alter all the measurements etc, but it is useful to have the hardback version, as the book stays open when cooking & is more durable than a softback.

I really don't understand why they haven't published a UK version in hardback!?

FAB book overall though!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
A nice book but as the detail could not be studied before purchase it was too old for the 5 year old I had intended to give it to. Will have to keep it for another year!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2011
I had the original edition as a child. The recipes all work and the tips and illustrations showing methods are great for children and adults learning to cook. I have continued to buy this book as presents. In my opinion, it is the best of the Usborne cookbooks. It is also superior to any student cookbook I have seen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2008
I have the 1987 print of this book and I have to say I love it.
Favorites include the Chocolate Mousse and chocolate brownies which never fail to impress.
Great for kids and adults alike!

edit: THIS NEW VERSION DOESN'T CONTAIN THE CHOCOLATE MOUSSE RECIPE. I'm assuming it's due to the raw eggs...
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2015
Was disappointed with this book generally. There were only a couple of recipes in here that were appropriate and useful for kids.
Also the style is very babyish, targeted at preschoolers to perhaps six but surprised that nowhere in the book mentions asking adults for help in using knifes, ovens etc, no basic safety messaging etc. Would not recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2011
I bought this cookbook as a gift for my little sister and I love it (probably more than she does!). The illustrations are great and it provides clear instructions and simple savoury and sweet recipes. A great way of spending time with my sister and introducing her to cookery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
I do love this book because the recipes are very healthy like using wheatgerm in muesli, brillian! The reason why I have only rated this book 3 stars is because the book does not state how many portions the recipes serve.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse