Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Arcade Fire Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2017
This book is fantastic for early readers. My son is a great reader, but has visual processing disorder, so having the pictures is fantastic to help him with this. I said to him, would you like to read your new book at bed time, and he promptly said "no thanks I read it twice at tea time already! "
Very happy with the level of story and illustration - would recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
lovely storybook
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
very good copy arrived on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
I choose this book because I am a psychotherapist and fairy tales/children's stories are part of my work. Also I have grandchildren who love stories. I read it to my grand-daughter who loved the pictures and as she is almost 6 years old could follow the story. It was also about the right length for her concentration. For me - I loved the illustrations, brings the story to life; the illustrations brought the little characters alive - loved the subtle colourings. The A5 size is great for carrying around.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2016
Quirky illustrations - a nice contrast to other versions of the story. :0)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
Beautiful book! Illustrations are lovely and the kids enjoy it! The story has been shrunk to hold young children's attention and to help them read out loud, it is fab well worth it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
This is a beautifully illustrated book & is a good introduction to Alice for a younger child. I am a great fan of the Tenniel pictures but liked the pictures in this edition too. Of course a lot is missing & there are favourite bits from the original which are skimmed over BUT that is the case with any book that is abridged.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
I'm a 9 year old girl i bought this book for world book day and I read it and it was amazing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
A beautifully illustrated and well-edited version of a favourite story. Just right to introduce a new generation of children to this timeless tale.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 May 2008
Alice in Wonderland is one of the most well known books ever published and has been produced in many varied formats and versions. In this new Usborne picture book, this classic children's novel has been very cleverly abridged to include only the key episodes and to be contemporary whilst maintaining perfectly the curious feel of the story.
A big square book with light airy illustrations this contrasts nicely with the standard bold primary coloured picture books lining children's shelves these days. The dreamlike quality of the pictures is fitting, and the overriding colour is green which keeps the book non-gender-specific and gives the feeling that the reader is exploring in a beautiful garden. The conceptually difficult notions in the original novel are simply encapsulated in only a couple of straightforward sentences per page as Alice follows the rabbit, grows and shrinks, meets the animals in a salty lake of tears, chats to the caterpillar and the Cheshire cat, joins the Hatter for a tea party, plays croquet with the Queen and ends up in court before waking up back on the riverbank. Simply frabjous!
11 Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse