Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
39
3.8 out of 5 stars
Irish for Beginners (Languages for Beginners)
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 27 March 2017
great book, well laid out and is a great starter for those interested in learning
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
Good Product and Good Delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
Ideal for someone starting the language, but will need a dictionary. Also a few hints re pronunction would help
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2017
I'm happy that I bought the one with the audio CD!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2017
delighted with book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
hard to hear clearly when is being said but they may be just my hearing as words are unusual .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2016
This is really old. It refers to the old Irish currency of punts! The English speaking narrator is clear and concise speaking at exactly the right volume. Which is well and good except I already speak English!
The Irish speakers sound like 90 year old pensioners talking in a tunnel through their noses!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2017
If you don't have the audio tracks, DON'T BUY THIS BOOK! It's useless. Your entirely on your own as far as pronunciation and spelling (the two aspects of the language that seem to me the hardest to tackle) are concerned. Don't get fooled by the fact that the pages in the book refer to the publisher's web site: the site points you to other, Irish-related sites, that have only the faintest bearing on the topics addressed in the book's pages, and do not explain anything - at all - about the lesson you're working on.
As far as I'm concerned: wasted money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2010
I read some of the reviews for other Beginners books, and choose this one as it had previous good reviews.
The links to the internet also for the lessons are excellent, I would have no hesitation in recommending this for anyone who wants to learn basics, and is great for all ages.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2017
The book has a nice format and on a first glance looks like it will be very helpful. Unfortunately it is let down by the CD. I have two versions of this book (I assume one is a later edition) and as far as I can tell the audio CD is the same with both. I found that the contents of the CD at times did not seem to match those of the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse