Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
44
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 May 2017
Not been read fully as yet but being used as reference book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
You must remember that this is written as a novel and don't confuse this with the authentic inspired word of God. BUT, to read the events of the bible as a story is a wonderful way of seeing the bible and God's continuing love and redemptive work in progress. You see the reality of Man/Israel's continual fall from grace and God's unwavering and unmerited patience and grace.

Yes the bible tells all this but most frequently we dip into just parts of it for lessons or even if we read it through from beginning to end the books are not structured chronologically so it can be difficult to see the story unfolding.

Anyway I thought it great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 July 2016
This is a interesting book - which seeks to present the 'story' of the Bible as a novel. In effect, it's the novelisation of the Old and New Testaments. It's written in a style that's intended for adults, and it is on the whole an engaging read. It's a fairly large book - at over 800 pages. This, of course, is a consequence of the fact that the Bible is an immense publication (the King James version is over 1,100 pages, with small font - see Holy Bible: King James Version (KJV) (Bible Kjv)). The author, Walter Wangerin, has adopted an imaginative approach - with parts of the Bible being expressed, in-story, as ancient tales. Yet it's nonetheless told in a sincere manner - aimed at a 'faithful' readership.

While I enjoyed reading this book, I do think that the author tends to focus more on certain parts of the Biblical story than others. Some elements are covered very briefly (no doubt because they presented difficulties when trying to portray them within a novel). And, at times, the story is told in a far too simple - often literate - manner, e.g. when Jesus was confronted by the Devil during his 40 days of wandering around. Many aspects of the Bible are highly complex and require sophisticated interpretation - and to gloss over these complexities is to do a disservice to the theologians who's struggled to understand the meaning of the source materials.

As such, I recommend this book as an 'introduction' to the Bible - as a fictionalised account of the basic storyline. But it should be remembered that as a novel, this book is simplifying the Bible.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
This is a brilliant Book , I have read it many times before, and I have lent it to many other friends. Some times it does not come back! So I by another one. It is must for my book shelf
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2010
This is a great book for anyone who is seeking to find out more about Christianity, but finds the language and phraseology in the Bible difficult to follow. It takes some of the books of the Bible and tells it in modern language. Although not a substitute for the Bible, it does help to clarify those passages that it mirrors. I found this book so helpful when I first became a Christian, that I thought it may help others too, so I took it into work and put it into a book swap scheme that I'd started. I haven't seen it since, hence having to buy a new one!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2002
This book made daily bible reading a pleasure. Both contemprary and scriptural it is a novel as likely to be read as any picked up from an airport newsagents. It has the emotion and impact of the orriginal text, often more so. Brings out colour and depth.
There's a lot of specifics missing, as it is not a direct translation but an adaptations, and if you are seeking a chapter and verse reading you will be disapointed.
I find it a great starting point to get your thoughts together on a section of the Bible. I see it having great applications for youth work meetings and even sunday school readings.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This completely blew me away. It makes you think about what the familiar stories actually MEAN, and the situations behind and leading up to them. It also clings firmly to the theme throughout of God being at the centre, and of it all being part of His plan, which is so refreshing and encouraging!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2006
Got a Bible but find it boring, especially the laws listed in Leviticus? Confused over some of the more old-fashioned language used (the Authorised Version)? Then I recommend The Book of God. It puts the Word of the living Lord into a style that everyone can understand, even if it does miss out a few sections along the way. This should be in every household, even if only to compare with the real thing itself.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2001
Walter has researched and put his heart into this beautifully crafted book and the words flow through you like a mighty river. He brings to life all the images of Palastine and the words of the many books of the bible suddenly fall into place.
I found this to be an exilarating read, which had me in laughter and in tears. It is a book not to be missed
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2000
This book has helped me to understand who was who in the bible and who did what. It is divided easily into the Kings, the Prophets etc with whole chapters on these historical characters. Walter Wangerin has written very emotively and has really brought the Bible to life - you can almost feel the pain the Jesus went through when he was crucified.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse