Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2006
This book tells you Harry Webb's past. How he became Sir Cliff Richard. Tales about his personal life: Music; Religion, Girlfriends with lots of new never seen before photos.
This is not just for fans this tells the truth about Cliff.
The Ultimate Pop Star who remains Britain's Top Pop Icon spreading over ten decades and two centurys and two millenia.
Sir Cliff Richard still the Best singer India ever had the third most selling singer on earth. Bing Crosby/Elvis Frank Sinatra and our own CLIFF.
Now you too could be a Cliff expert and debunk all the silly tales and know the truth about his health friends loves and family.
Besides its a good read.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2006
This is a great biography. If you are a Cliff Richard fan, then get this book. I believe that Cliff is the greatest entertainer in the world. Being an American,it was difficult to get his albums and videos until I found Amazon. Everything I have gotten by him has turned out to be great entertainment.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2006
Cliff Richard is my favorite entertainer and this book tells his story in a way that makes for enjoyable reading. I have always admired people who have had humble beginnings and gone on to have success in life. If you like Cliff, buy this book. You will not be sorry.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
Any fan of Cliff Richard will enjoy this book. Well written and very readable with lots of great information on Cliff Richard. I like this book as it tells the facts without going the tabloid route. I have liked Cliff Richard since 1963 so I know what I like.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
There are often comparisons made with Dirk Bogarde. You think you see a lot but you really never know the whole person. Cliff is enigmatic because he keeps his private life private. He seems an enigma because his religion is a barrier against the excess of many of his contemporaries and the obvious temptations of a teenage icon. Since this was published there has, as is inevitable with any public person, been even more speculation about his private life which his own responses do not really discourage or attempt to answer, almost as if he revels in the speculation about his 'companion.'

I enjoyed the book. It is well researched and I am sure contains facts Cliff did not even know himself about his family history. I think having grown up in the 1950's in a more restricted culture I can understand him better than most, and his family background is perhaps more typical of that era which makes repressed emotions easier to accept. No-one will ever really know him because all his own books and interviews lack depth to the point of being trite. Perhaps the answer is just to enjoy the music. Like every other artist he has made some duff records in his time, but it is only pop music, not high art. Just sing along and do not expect to find philosophy or the meaning of life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
Just the birthday present she has every cd and dvd going not many books but this was great she's going to love it and never put it down
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
I'm reading this to a very disabled person in a residential home who is mad about Cliff Richard. She is enthralled.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
I never thought I would buy a book about Cliff Richard. Having read about and spoken to Paul Jones about their public spat concerning religion years ago I thought I would try and read a bit more. The book requires a lot of reading between the lines, and some of the conclusions that I arrived at may be wrong, but it was an enjoyable exercise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
Have hardly put it down since I started it. Very much for a dedicated Cliff fan, I was in my teens in the sixties and this brings back wonderful memories of this time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
Witty, factual, entertaining and yet very down to earth. He narrates really well and makes the reader feel with him what he is going through, his adventures, his business and his private life. It is very hard to read in parts and at the beginning of the book I wanted to scoop the young Cliff out and just protect him. School was not his forte as a child Cliff thought all teachers were wankers, and his family's ambition for him was to be a cab driver.

From a young age Cliff showed great entrepreneurial skills, he was the kid at the age of 14 filling donuts with jam in Glasgow, and soon discovered the thrill of making extra money on a paper round, when he would turn up an hour earlier than everyone else and sell them all. With his extra money Cliff started going to gigs and soon fell in love with live music.

You will find yourself burning with enthusiasm after reading this and racking your brain to think of some venture into which you can fling your energy. That is the great attraction of this book.

If the name Cliff Richard stands for anything it should stand for innovation. He's the music industry's dream maker and the man who gives people something to look forward to. He's made people with talent believe in him, because he believes in them. He gives off an image of love and that's a nice way to be. He's not even one in a million, he is the only one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here