Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 25 August 2017
Fast delivery. Exactly as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2017
A heavy book, quite different from the previous edition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2017
Really good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 11 March 2017
Anthony Giddens' 'Sociology' was first published in 1989 and this 1152-page 8th edition(2017) with Philip W. Sutton is probably the best yet.
Clearly written and extensively revised with new material on recent global developments, climate change, the rise of terrorism and digital technology, this intellectually stimulating and comprehensive introduction to sociology explains difficult concepts in an engaging and accessible way.
It is an ideal guide for first-year sociology undergraduates and also the general reader wishing to make sense of our complex social world.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2001
Giddens provides a good, comprehensive text, which covers a broad range of sociological issues. I would disagree with the previous review: this book is ten times beeter than 'Sociology in Focus', which is minimal on fact and useless on evaluation. However, I do have to concur that Haralambos' 'Sociology: Themes and Perspectives' is a great book, packed with both fact and evaluation. Nevertheless, I would still recommend Giddens' book, as it is an extremely credible text: it is on the first year reading list for my Social and political Science course at Cambridge!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2017
Good textbook but barely any different from the 7th edition. I had hoped for lots of material around changes since 2014 in politics (e.g. Trump, Brexit), but there's nothing. Huge disappointment. Might as well buy the 7th edition second hand as all its good (great) for is as an introduction to the subject rather than an up-to-date companion to current events. I expected much better from Giddens
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2017
Currently studying Sociology at university. This book is a great place to start for the majority of essay, to understand the key information simply. Great for understanding ect and for planning the assignments, only reason why I wouldn't give the book five starts is due to the simplicity - it can only be really used as a reference for definitions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2002
Far better written, and far more contemporary than either Haralambos or Sociology in Focus. Giddens text is captivating and intriguing to those who already have an interest in the subject, and basic enough for those who haven't yet got a grounding in sociology to develop one. While not necessarily recommended for A-Level, I have used this book and am far happier with it than with the others that are available. Well worth the money.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2001
This book is simply a superb introduction to Sociology & a very good study aid. Though complex in places it is readily accessible and a must-have for all A-Level Sociology students.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse