Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
10
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£55.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 October 2003
This is perhaps the best text that is out there on game theory, at least for undergraduates. It's a short text, which is written in an easily understood way, which is highly coherent. There is a lot of mathematics, but is explained thoroughly, so should be easy to follow.
The best feature of this book is the many game theoretic applications that are provided. This games are particular useful when applied to both Microeconomic and Macroeconomic theory, so this book has a lot to offer.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2012
This book is a very logical, systematic introduction to game theory. It is focussed on economics, so should be ideal for economics undergrads. There is a little mathematics background assumed (school level calculus should suffice), but the mathematics is sometimes omitted entirely, which can make the text difficult to follow. So, overall I would wholeheartedly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
Coming in at about 250 A5 pages, all in black and white with all the fancy editing you could expect from microsoft word 98 edition, this book wastes no paper nor ink. It is extremely concise and every single word is vital for understanding.

As a student, I find this infuriating. While the mathematics is very simple, it features only sums and simple calculus, Gibbons has a habit of doing three or four mathematical operations in one go, without informing us lowly mortals as to why or what, so in many examples you'll find yourself scratching your head trying to reverse engineer the process he used to get from A to B. Game theory is a subject where you juggle lots and lots of variables at once, so when you add the above confusion it can feel like banging your head against the wall sometimes.

This book in many ways has more in common with a formula collection than a textbook, and as such I cannot recommend it to anyone who's new to the subject of game theory.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2011
Gibbon's text is sufficiently formal to provide genuine understanding and a basis for further expansion. It is also concise, a blessing in any such treatise. This would be an excellent resource for anyone taking exams which include game theory. Examples from the wider literature of the theory covered in the text are brought in and illustrated, which is particularly useful. For a complete introduction I'd suggest pairing reading of this book with the video lecture series by Ben Polak of Yale, available on YouTube.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
I'm a student of Game Theory at a business school, and this is by far and away, the worst and most nonsensical book I've ever used. The author seems to like leaving students behind, by introducing new unexplained variables, and long cryptic equations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
The book is great value for money. I bought it for my son who needed it for his university course. It was delivered in very good condition and was much cheaper than the price it was on sale for in the book shop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
The best feature of this book is the many game theoretic applications that are provided.
So, overall I would wholeheartedly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2010
If you know nothing about game theory, consider this book. It's easy to understand and has practical exmples straight to the point of theory.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
It has not my expected quality.It is the first time from Amazon I did not get my expected quality. Now it is useless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2004
to ans the spence model with intutive criterion, and maybe cheap talk as well, in a rigorous while easy-to-follow way in my exam, i find no literature (no text, no journal) but this book. this book really saves my ass.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)