Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
49
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 November 1999
Think Harry Potter with a groosham twist. David is a 13 year old wizard sent to boarding school. But there is more to Groosham Grange than what meets the eye. Why does the French teacher never teach at full moon? Why does the RE teacher smell of seaweed? What are the mysterious rings all the pupils are wearing? And why are the children made to sign their names in blood. . .? Though creepy, this book is chock full of humour, and when you're not shivering you'll be chuckling your socks off! And before you Harry Potter fans snort "What a copy" I'd like to say this book was written before Hogwarts was even thought of! (Though it is a slightly similar storyline)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
BRILLIANT. Anthony Horowitz is, in my opinion the best children's author ever. He is a genius. His books capture you right from the start with great plot, great pace and great humour andlkeep you hooked to the very end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2007
It is the first book I read of Anthony Horowitz, and it will not be the last. This book goes back to 1983 and yet all the ingredients having made the success of Harry Potter are already in this novel! There are mystery, suspense, bounces, sympathetic characters, all played on nerves, in an opaque and oppressive atmosphere. I was not totally captured at the beginning, but then I couldn't help to raise my nose from this book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2001
This is a story about a boy that gets expelled from his school and sent to groosham grange and his teachers are vampires and werewolfs. Brilliant book must get it. also it has a very funny storyline.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
I first read this book in 3rd year of high school when I was about 14 or 15. I'm now 20 and I still love this book! Hilarious and written by what I consider one of the best writers. If you love Anthony Horowitz, you'll love Darren Shan. I know I do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2005
A great book for all the ages. Once you read a page you cant stop, and it doesen't drool on and on one part for ages, it contines to the next part when it's done. Realy funny and it will have you in sitches in the end. 99 persent of people who read it love the book. If somone says they don't like it (witch doesn't happen often)they should be shot. Generly what the book is about is that David gets expelled from school and has no where to go, but then a letter comes through the door giving David a place a grousham grange. But this school is much weirder then any other.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2012
David Eliot is here and is expelled from school, and has to go to another one. He goes there but not before seeing a black crow on the way...

He has to find out why the new pupils write their name in blood, the assistant headmaster has no reflection, and the mystery of the two 'heads.'

Very funny and Horowitz once again brings out his best!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Expelled from one boarding school, twelve year old David Eliot is promptly despatched to another - his parents not fussy, as long as he is out of the way. From the start he realizes this new one is odd - he met at the station by a converted hearse, its driver once turned down by a freak show as over qualified....

Horrors abound in the country's sole private school to have its own cemetery. The staff are a very weird bunch indeed - planning "to do things" with David before he is thirteen. Can he escape? Will he even want to?

One senses in Anthony Horowitz a boyish humour, jokes and anarchic situations mischievously concocted to guarantee chuckles of delight. Result? An engagingly ghoulish read. Good news for all who enjoyed it: there is a sequel!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2012
This 2 in 1 book is a very good read. My 10 year old son loved reading it. It is humourous in parts but also quite scary too. It definitely holds your interest and every chapter is exciting. If you like Anthony Horowitz books, you'll love this one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2003
That about sums it up really. Mad. In the first chapter, you meet the family of the main character, David, after he has been ezpelled from school. His mother is always crying and isn't fazed when she gets hit over the head or stabbed with a kitchen knife by her husband. His father was crippled by his grandfather and is in a wheelchair, all in the name of discipline, and doesn't seem to mind rolling into the fire by accident. The violence is meant to be funny, and to some extent it is. This is much the same through the whole book, even as pointless as it is. There's an interesting twist at the end, but most of it is fairly predictable. I know this sounds like a horrible review, but it is enjoyable, as I laughed at the stupidity of it, really. Recommeneded for the younger generation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here