Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
28
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 2 September 2016
All of these books are aimed really well at little kids. They often repeat sentences, or repeat the structure of sentences, so while an adult may question the repetition, a child is being coached in the correct grammar of a sentence structure, by the re-use of the same structure with different words and situations. The lovely drawings and gentle pacing of the books make them excellent night-time reads.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
Bought few of the big bear little bear books as our baby loves them. The ilustrations are very pretty and we enjoy reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
Bought few of the big bear little bear books as our baby loves them. The ilustrations are very pretty and we enjoy reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2017
Nice book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Such a lovely book.
My daughter loves the story, especially as it has a daddy bear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2016
An enchanting look at adult-child relationships
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
Love these books, great quality and service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
martin is such great children's author so simple but so lovely bedtime story. this applies to all his books I ve bought great condition my son kept asking for next book etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2008
'Once there were two bears, Big Bear and Little Bear.
Big Bear is the big bear and Little Bear is the little bear.'

And that is how Martin Waddell's 'Bear' series of stories all start, which is comforting for the younger reader who will soon start to recognise the gentle repetition of key words.

Little Bear wants to play, but Big Bear has some chores to do!
Little Bear helps Big Bear to fetch the wood for the fire, go for the water, and tidy Bear Cave.
Little Bear is ever hopeful of being able to play once the chores are finished but there is just too much to do so he ends up playing by himself....bear-jumping, bear-sliding, bear-swinging, bear-tricks-with-bear-sticks....even bear-run-about-by-himself!
When Big Bear finally comes out to sit on his rock, for a quiet think......he falls asleep!
But not for long, as Little Bear points out that he has played all his games by himself, it is now time for some togetherness......and Big Bear agrees to play some games, including hide-and-seek!
They played until the sun slipped away, then it was time to go home.

In true child fashion, Little Bear recalls the good things about the day:

"It was lovely, Big Bear," Little Bear said.
"Just you and me playing...together."

31 high quality shiny pages, in the popular 2-page spread format (except the last one!) with superb pastel illustrations, throughout, from Barbara Firth.
Enough words to each page, in a good sized print, to be stimulating, but not over-powering.
Plenty of speech opportunities for those who like to read along!

From the back cover:

"I want to play!" Little Bear said.
There are lots of jobs that ned to be done in the Bear Cave. While Big Bear works, Little Bear plays his bear-games all by himself, but what he really wants is for Big Bear to play with him.
Will Little Bear's wish ever come true?'

Example of text:

'... "I've tidied my things, Big Bear!" Little Bear said.
"That's good, Little Bear," said Big Bear.
"But I'm not finished yet."
"I want you to play!" Little Bear said.
"You'll have to play by yourself, Little Bear," said Big Bear.
"I've still got plenty to do!"
Little Bear went to play by himself, while Big Bear got on with the work.......'
review imagereview image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse