Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 December 2010
I brought this item as part of a special offer at my local Gamestation, and the first thing that surprised me was how far back to basics this guide goes. The first few chapters are really all topics I remember reading about in 2006 in the original game's manual.

There are some good points though. I found the crafting guides and class guides helpful, and the overview of the new areas was nice. However for advanced players, the standard sources of game information online will doubtless be more productive.

The size of the guide is good - it's about an inch and a half thick. But it's more quantity over quantity.

Ultimately it could have been a lot more concise, and a lot more comprehensive.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 August 2011
Nearly indispensible guide - could do with more info on quests, but these do change with patches so not practicable.
Everything you need in one place without ploughing through endless web pages.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 December 2010
First things first: if you're looking for a guide to the Cataclysm dungeons, or to high-level playing strategies, you can stop reading now. This guide does not even pretend to have that information, and many high-level players will find its many omissions frustrating.

That said - and especially when compared with the wretched guide that accompanied the Wrath expansion - this is a pretty decent guide to an enormous game. If you are new to WoW, there is a lot of useful advice for a starting player, including some detail on starting races and the early quest areas. Moreover, even established players should take an interest in the detailed class explanations, where advice is even given on each talent tree, together with the stats you should look to prioritise. This advice is probably not written in stone, but a lot of it will be quite useful for intermediate players.

High-level players, who might sneer at a beginner's guide, should still take a look at this book for the detailed maps of the new zones. These maps are fairly valuable, because they are accompanied with lists of what farmable materials can be found in each zone: well worth having if you want to plan out a journey to pick up some Liferoot and don't know where to find it. (Maybe it's splitting hairs, but it would have been better had the zones been laid out in level order rather than alphabetical order.) The sections on professions could be fuller, but still provide some functionality if you just want to check out what recipes are appropriate at each level of skill.

The artwork in this volume is okay, and the presentation is reasonably good. If you take it for what it is (rather than what it would be in an ideal world) this definitely offers value for money, and I'd recommend it as a handy backup when you don't have a web connection to hand.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2012
As i was a new player to WOW i bought this guide the day after buying the game. it arrived only two days later and by that time it was redundant, as i had already picked up more than the basics using online guides and just simply playing the game. I would not recommend this guide to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2010
Like all their products, this will offer hardly anything actually useful to a player and will rapidly become out of date as patches occur.

Go to one of the websites which contain far more useful information and are kept current, like wowwikki. Free and contains everything you need to know.... or Thottbot....or MMO Champion.

Years back I got the first one of the series for Classic, found it useless and thought 'They must learn from this so the BC version will be better' Alas no, it too was of little use. Want to get a long list of quest rewards? Its good for that, but not for explaining how to complete a quest thats proving tricky. Want to know what new talents or spells there are? Its good at that....although you could just real the tooltips. But want to know more about rotations, which stats are most useful, specs....well, they dont do that. For that just Google it. Basically Brady Games dont try and understand the game, but regurgitate stats which you can get hold of anyway.

Dont waste your money, just Google what you want to know.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2011
The package is very good, the book was just what i needed to go further in the game.
Good descriptions of all kinds of stuff what you need for.
In 1 word Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2010
This book id definitally recommend for people new but is also a great referrence for current players.

Explaining all the lore and some helpful tips any newbie could want.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2011
This is Bradygames best guide yet! I have most of them but didn't use them very much as the guides were poorly laid out and it could be difficult to find particular subjects. The Cataclysm guide is sooo much better! It has a Contents Page, so now I can find things. The Art is exceptional, the writing is good and clear. This book does not sit on a shelf gathering dust, I have it beside me every day when I play WoW.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2015
great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
i love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)