Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 April 2006
The short answer to this is - if you are new to WoW (ie you have owned the game less than a month) this is a must buy - it has detailed descriptions of all aspects of the game, it roughly guides you through what each class and profession is capable of whilst not giving away any trade secrets that you really should discover yourself. If you have owned WoW for a month or over then to be honest I would save your money - by now you should have a friend or two that have alts (alternative characters) and are willing to impart their wisdom on you unless you are a social tortoise!
The down side with this book is that I bought mine in January 2006 and at that time was right up to date (for patch 1.8) but now we are several versions down the line (patch 1.10) some of the content of my book is inaccurate.
So buy all means buy this book for what it is - a strategy GUIDE, but dont expect a bible to live, work and play by - it wont stay in date for long.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you're anything like my son and I then World of Warcraft is slowly taking over your life. We spend ages researching quests lands, loot and creatures. The book is a god-send. all the maps are here and are handy to have on the table next to you. It's NOT the definitive reference...but it does quiet a long way to helping you find your way around. Some of the quests and their locations and those of NPC's are extremely elusive. Given that at the higher levels it takes an age to level up, the last thing you want to be doing is struggling to find the location of your next adventure. Definately worth having.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2005
I have ordered the (English language) "World of WarCraft" Brady Games guide from Amazon.co.uk last week and find it actually well done. It has the size of a warehouse catalogue (430 pages, format DIN A4) and a very good, comprehensive layout with lots of information, (actually useful) tips, tricks, all kind of game tables, quest overviews, maps, and more. The print and paper quality are very good making the abundance of (good) in-game screenshots and the funny WOW Penny Arcade comics a pleasure to look at. Sure, some of the game tables are not quite up to date anymore (the data is from the U.S. Open Beta), but this is normal and fine with me because Brady Games offer the actual data as PDF file downloads on their website. Very helpful is the nearly complete game features overview in the guide. If you wanted to collect that mass of information using the known web resources, it'd be quite a task and you'd still hardly be able to find and store it that comprehensively structured.
From all Blizzard guides I've seen so far, incl. the rather well done WarCraft III 'Reign of Chaos' and 'Frozen Throne' guide, this one is the best. If you, like me, are the type who likes to plan your basic strategies with a cup of tea away from the computer, it's definitely worth the 20-25 bucks. 4.5 stars out of 5 (because some things can always be made better ;))
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2006
I bought WoW around one year ago, this book was up to date and very helpful. However! At the current time i think this book is very outdated due to the massive amount of patches since release and that most of the information actually is very different to what is now in the game.

The game is great, and so is this book if you want some basic information.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2006
I have been playing World of Warcraft for nearly a year now. Its fantastic but without a handy reference - theres just too much contect - it could get overwhelming. Its great to have maps to help you find NPC's and to point you in the right direction to complete quests. For a newbie (apologies) its the best thing out there. It does not tell you the solutions to quests - that would spoil the game.
Obvious ommissions are the lack of instance maps. Great pluses are the price lists for items - so you dont get ripped off at the aucion house and the first day walkthroughs to help you find your feet. Spell and ability descriptions are great too.
The detail is great but beware as WOW evolved this book is getting out of date. Its sits on my desk next to the computer and helps power leveling. Some might consider this cheating - I think road map is a better description.
Go on treat yourself - you wont regret it! If you see me on line say hi.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2005
Right. Imagine this. You've just shelled out for WoW. It arrives in the post on a sunny afternoon in January. You have no idea how to make money, train, get anywhere etc etc.
This book was an absolute godsend. It helped infinitely in my first few levels, and I would probably still be in the lower 20s!
Buy this book now! Worth the money all the way! It is the same thickness as an Argos catalogue!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2005
I played WoW from beta through to August 2005 and bought this book when it first came out. I was a little wary, as I was on the player panel for the guide to Anarchy Online and know full well just how quickly stats etc can change in online games. But no, this is a great book to help you on your way. There's the usual profession guides but the strength is in the maps which highlight quest NPC and monster locations. For the starter areas advice is offered to get you started as efficiently as possible in the quest system so you don't miss out on anything - even if the reward is just a quirky story. Being able to look up the vendor price of loot was also useful because when a quest offers a choice of reward and none of them are useful to your profession, you can at least choose the one that's worth more.
Sure you can use Thottbot and the info may be more detailed in places but unless you have 2 screens or don't mind alt tabbing out of the game it's a damn sight more convenient to have a book next to you.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2005
This book is not a walkthrough guide nor is it the be all and end all of how WOW should be played. However in a massive world with very large cities and lots of people the maps are invaluable. The book also lists all the main monsters and friendly NPC's in the world. Very Handy indeed.
It has tips and advice for the new, which I used and was very happy to have. I like the humour of the book and my copy is very well read, I can tell you.
If you buy World of Warcraft the game, then buy this book or like me be lost until you do. :)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2006
Excellant book.

My boyfriend started palying warcraft about a month before me and seemed to know so much more than me about gameplay and little tricks. This is the reason why. There are so many things it explains here that you can find out while playing the game but you will disadvantaged if you don't use from the very beginning. With a game this big new players need aan easy to use guide like this , well worth it for the price
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
I'm sure that when this book came out in 2004, it was excellent, but 10 years later it is outdated. It's not completely useless, but the game has changed a lot since release. Nothing wrong with the quality of the book itself, just the content. Still, it provides some background knowledge and a good, straightforward walk-through of your first day in the game, different aspects of deciding who your character should be, and a description of the various things you can do in the game. A good gift for a beginner if they are finding it difficult to make choices about their character.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)