Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 November 2002
This is definitely worth the price, an excellent guide. The thing about walkthroughs is that they can sometimes spoil a game, and shorten it- but with this one that is definitely not the case. In fact it lengthens the lifespan of the game, by revealing secrets, hidden areas and vehicles you would almost certainly never find without it.
Comprehensive vehicle guides, details of every mission and odd job, everything you need to get the elusive 100% completion rating. If you are buying the unsurpassed, unbelievably brilliant GTA: Vice City, then you should buy this guide without question. It is worth buying this just for the map showing in detail the location of every hidden package, so that you can get them all and get access to the Ultimate Secret Vehicle- an apache style helicopter gunship with minigun and rocket launcer!
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2004
This guide is extremley useful for completing the game 100%. It explains all the cars and wepons in detail. It goes through each mission with you. it tells you where all the unique stunt jumps are and there is a large poster showing all the hidden packages.
A must buy for all people who own Vice City
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2002
After 5 days of playing this game non-stop ( whats sleep!) I have started using the guide to help me get further. The guide is very useful as it doesn't ruin the amazing storyline and secrets that you happen across as you play.It just gives you helpful hints of the best way to progress to the top of the pile in Vice City. A huge bonus is the pull out map in the back which details the location of all 100 hidden packages. All in all I highly recommend this guide to anyone who has Vice City.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2004
I never buy strategy guides as a rule, but after I had finished Vice City and had completed all missions, I had still only completed sixty percent of the game. The game itself has a wealth of hidden extras. For example I did not know that you could hold up a shop, take a boat to certain locations on the map and watch a submarine surface etc. The guide itself is excellently presented, full glossy colour and packed with information about the game. Theres loads of stuff that you just wouldnt stumble upon whilst playing Vice City so at this price you can stretch this fantastic game's life span even further. The secrets map is excellent, the information regarding the different vehicles regarding speed, handling etc is very comprehensive. An excellent buy.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2004
Now THIS is a real videogame strategy guide. The official strategy guidefor "Grand Theft Auto: Vice City" is an extremely helpful little tool inyour quest of chaos and mayhem. It'll help you out if you're in a toughjam or need to know how to get out of a rough situation pronto. The guideoffers step-by-step descriptions of what should be done in order tocomplete all of the missions that are thrown in your way. Pictures areincluded, as well as alternate routes and techniques to get the jobdone.
Not only is this guide helpful by just merely explaining the missions andhow to achieve successful outcomes of those missions, but the guide alsogives you some excellent tips and secrets. You also get complete profilesof weapons, cars, and your friends (along with your enemies). The guidehelps you figure out what vehicle/weapon would be the most useful to youon certain missions. Full details of side missions are also at yourdisposal as well. A downside of the guide is that there are some typos anderrors present. Looks like somebody doesn't like to proofread--although, Ishould be the LAST person to complain about such things. Besides, it's notlike you're reading the guide for literary qualities.
The guide is most useful when you use it as a reference tool. This meaningthat you only refer to it when you are in a tough spot and do not know howto get out of it. Or, you're stuck on a certain mission and no matter howmany times you attempt it, you end up either dead or arrested. Then, thisis when the guide becomes the most helpful. The pure fun of the gameitself is how unpredictable it is. There's always a nasty surprise thatawaits you around every dark and trashy corner. So, I would not recommendthat you use the guide for the entire duration of your joyriding in ViceCity.
This very well laid out strategy guide for "Grand Theft Auto: Vice City"is a more than helpful tool that will get you out of many binds duringyour stay in Vice City. With excellent step-by-step mission layouts,colorful pictures, and detailed profiles on characters, vehicles andweapons, this proves to be a truly informative guide that no "Grand TheftAuto" fan should be without. Keep it close to you, is my advice to you.You never know when you're going to need it... -Michael Crane
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 June 2003
Life in Vice City is meant to be easy, but sometimes it can be tough. Too tough for my liking sometimes. So that is why this guide (published by the good folks at the Vice City Tourist Board) is so good. It makes your adventures in the city that bit easier, and gives you the edge in situations that were previously too much like hard work.
With a game so immersive and expansive as GTA: Vice City, you really do need to have a little bit of a hand with keeping track of things. I mean, you wouldn't just turn up in Miami without an A to Z now, would you? Besides the starightforward missions in the game, there are lots (and I mean LOTS) of little extras absolutely everywhere, and unless you play the game right the first time, you may find yourself missing out on goodies like the delightful flamethrower (available once you've found 60 of 100 hidden items), or you might find it tricky getting your hands on the Rhino tank, for instance. But with this guide, you've got a step up, and although you still have to play the game (which you will want to take your time over anyway), it is good to know that you can really make the most of it and not miss anything.
The guide is a bit busy in places and could be a little better laid out and designed, but it is still clear enough, well illustrated and fun to read. If you want to make the most of this game, you'll find this guide totally indispensible. If you've already been playing GTA:VC for a while, you'll still find it a useful addition to the gaming experience overall, and is worth the cover price just having it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2012
Iam a big fan of GTA and enjoyed this game but never did everything, now thanks to this guide I have. The pull out map alone was enough to help me find everything hidden away in vice city. The mission walkthrough was helpful also and I enjoyed reading the book even though I know most of the game. There are online guides but I like to have an old fashion book at my side when Im stuck on a mission.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2004
I own the game and adore it but I couldn't get the perfect 100%. I only got 75. But this book did it for me. I now know the secrets. How to find secret areas. although I am against cheats. I needed to know though. This is the top guide! For certain. Thumbs up for ROCKSTAR!!! Well done.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2010
After struggeling with this game for so long, and only being able to get so far with it, I found the official strategy guide to be absolutley fantastic in helping with the location of the hidden items, extra missions I knew nothing about, and the whereabouts of hidden weapons. In addition, it also gives great help with tips on how to complete each mission succesfully.
All in all, a great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2002
The best guide book that has ever been created !!!
This book gives you information on the cars, maps and all the missions in the game. Maps of everything including the hotels and homes you can buy to save your game in. Information on the cars including pictures, and a rating of how good they are. Totally worth the cost, i would even pay double for it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse