Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
8
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 October 2002
Not having read anything by this author I did not know what to expect but I will be reading more of Carlyle's books in the furture.
The book seemed slow to start but it was just setting the scene. I was soon hooked. The passionate romance between Lady Catherine Wodeway a young widow from the county and Maximilian de Rohan 'Max', a police man is played out in a story of Murder, suspense, secrets and lies.
This story is different because unlike many romances it is not set always so much within the world of the ton but of the working and middle classes as well. I would recomend this book to any one who enjoys a bit of mystery in their romance
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2004
Having not read any other books by this author I was not sure about buying it. I am so glad that I did. What a wonderful book! 10/10.
Maximillian "max" de Rohan, works for the Home office and is investigating a murder. While Lady Catherine is a widow from the country come to spend the season in London with her Aunt. They meet on a foggy morning in Hyde Park and there lives are never the same again. This book is filled with suspense and mystery. The relationship between Max and Catherine is passionate from the beginning both being wildly attracted to each other. Max, having had a bad experience with a lady of the 'Ton' in the past and thinking himself beneath Catherine because he is a 'policeman' is reluctant at first and does his best to deny his feelings. Catherine on the other hand couldn't care less about his status and falls head over heals in love with him!! This book was such a refreshing change from some of the books I have read in this genre. The hero, dark, brooding,strong and sexy, but kind and caring. The heroine, beautiful and intelligent but doesn't play any games and is not afraid to admit to her feelings and desires.
I can't wait to read the other books in this series!!!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 December 2015
Another winner from Carlyle. Loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2009
I was very impressed with this book, the characters were very real and as I read it was as though I was watching a movie. I could see darkly attractive Max de Rohan clearly and Catherine was generous,caring,innocent,kind and giving she was a natural beauty and didn't know it. The plot was well put together holding us in suspense as the story unfolded. If you are anything like me who hates to know the plot of another book before I read it I would recommend that you read 'A woman of virtue' and 'Beauty like the night' before this one and to round off the set I would then recommend 'The devil you know' all are excellent. I just loved Max's grandmother and of course George Kemble is just superb. I so enjoyed reading Liz Carlyle that I went and got everything she has had published they are definately keepers which you can read again and again.Beauty Like the NightA Woman of VirtueThe Devil You Know: A Novel
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
I posted this back in June 2011 (my Blog Post #127) after borrowing it from the local library:

To protect a lady from danger in the Park, Max De Rohan kisses her senseless ........ Lady Catherine Wodeway knows that is something no true gentleman would ever do without the proper introduction, not even to save her life!

His dark and dangerous good looks, together with his brooding maleness somehow lead her along to forget that she is in fact a Lady.

A 3 *** Star read, not as good as some of the others, but nice to tie up a few names in the whole picture. Lovely to see George Kemble again .... sadly not up to his usual delicious sadistic persona, but a girl can hope for the future!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2009
I love ALL of Liz Carlyle's books and I started in the middle of her list then went back to the beginning. Hence, I have just finished this one and devoured it from start to finish. I had a fancy for Maximilian in the previous book and I knew he would come to the fore. This book has everything one could wish. Passion, Sensuality in bucketfuls and suspense, as well as comedy.

Read the first two reviewers then buy. All I can do is re-iterate all that has been said, because it has been said so well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
I absolutely love Liz Carlyle's Books - I would recommend all her books and the seller to family and friends. This book was well packaged and sent quickly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
A brilliant book, but who edited the kindle version? Sack them at once. Spaces between words, not spacesbetweenwords. It's really irritating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here