Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 19 March 2017
Not what I expected. I feel it was a waste of money. I purchased it in hope to learn more about my dogs but in my opinion it failed to give much infotmation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2017
Karen Pryor always worth reading!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2009
Having read Karen Pryor's other books - Don't Shoot the Dog and Clicker Training for Dogs, this book does go over similar ground from time to time. However, in conjuction with the linked website and video clips, it provides some thought provoking insights for anyone interested in why clicker training works and why animals (and people) can learn so well and so quickly and have so much fun into the bargain.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
Highly recommended read for anyone, especially those who live or work with animals, or children. As a dog trainer, I have amassed quite a collection of books on training & communication, and this is by far the best in my opinion. To date, this is the only book I've read that actually explains 'why' clicker training is so effective, and it has even inspired me to start training my cats!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2010
I read this book before starting to train our new pup and honestly can't urge anyone who is about to start training a pup enough to read it,It really gets into how the whole process works and where it all started. Our dog within the first week sits everytime comes 95% of the time and lays down 80% of the time when told, you can see his brain working he really try's his best to get a click we couldn't believe how quickly he picks each new command up a great book. But if your just looking for a book on how to train your dog without learning the back ground Karen Pyror has another book for this. good luck hope this helps.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2009
Having clickered for many years this book hit just the right spot to reaffirm my committment to this excellent training/communication method.

With chapters explaining the use of the method on various different species including humans and with plenty of examples and explainations this book is a must for trainers and teachers of all kinds.

It is easy reading but nevertheless packed with information and ideas.

It has the added advantage of another dimension using extra video information which can be accessed on the web.

All round excellent book.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
If You want to go deeper into the subject this is a very good place to start.
There are lots of animal specific books on clicker training this is not one of them!
This is a book about how the mind works with "clicker " training and how effective it can be.
It has only a few pages about specific pets mainly cat and dog. and the odd ferret referance.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
Karen Pryor - the 'mother' of modern dog training, Thank heavens for her....

Get your hands on this and understand why clicker training is the most wonderfully powerful yet kind way you can teach your dog. She delves into a bit of neurobiology but if you are seriously interested in how an animal learns, this is for you. Some nice video links too.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2009
Absolutely brilliant. Explains how clicker training and shaping works which makes it easier to understand how to do it. Lots of wonderful anecdotes about dogs, dolphins, horses, fish!and people. Lots of video links which give another insight into the workings of the clicker. The one with the fish who goes into a paddy when he wasn't rewarded is surprising. Very easy to read. Any animal lover would enjoy this book. It really opens the mind to look at animal training in a different way. I think everyone should read this book. Clicker shaping and TAGGing could change the world for the better.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2011
This book is absolutely fantastic - it makes the technical side of animal learning easy to understand as is full of fascinating stories about the amazing capabilities of animals. a must read for any animal lover or training enthusiast!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)