Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
9
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 January 2002
If you enjoy travelbooks as well as cook books, this is one for you. The writer provides an introduction to the countries of the Mahgreb - Tunisia,Algeria & Morocco - well illustrated with photographs and stories of trafvels and encounters (of the gastronomic kind). For recipes,Moro probably has the edge. But if you have ever enjoyed a visit to North Africa, or would like to,this book provides insights that you won't find in the travel guides. It manages to get inside the culture, and the cooking, without being too precious, yet still maintaining a great sense of love and enthusiasm for the area and its traditions. A book to come back to, and to explore. And if your'e lucky, it will also inspire some good cooking!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2002
How can I begin to describe the pleasure of this book? Not only is the design and layout breathtaking - the recipes, though challenging at times, are a delight to make and consume!
Although my partner doesn't usually enjoy North African dishes - a trick of leaving the beautifully illustrated book open on the kitchen counter usually results in a 'that looks good - when are we having that then?'!
I would definitely recommend this book to anyone with a passion for intense, seductive flavours and a love of cooking!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2001
I bought this book having loved the restaurant and was disappointed. Although not expecting to recapture the heady ambience of dining with rock stars I was hoping for photographic temptation and passionate food writing, I felt let down on both counts. The book seems to concentrate more on encouraging trips to North Africa than cooking its dishes. The recipes not only fail to culinarily inspire but use many extraordinary and inaccessable ingredients. I did cook a Morroccan meal for 12 from this book, and it was enthusiastically consumed, although due to the absurdity of the suggested components the finished feast bore little semblance to the original.
11 comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2012
On page 105 it shows lamb coated with sesame seeds But they are not mentioned it also tell you to cook the dish in 2ltrs of oil with 100ml of water, I do not think so, this book has recipes badly thrown together, just to sell the book on the name.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
Your definition of 'very good condition' and my definition are poles apart. Dog-eared, faded and generally kicked about does not constitute 'very good condition' in any language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
this book is such a wonderful book i have enjoyed the recipes so much it is beautifully written. I can not recommend this book more I love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
A comprehensive guide to North African food and cooking. Well written and easily readable - even for a South Sea Islander from Down Under
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
Given as a present , which seemed to go down well. Looked like something I would have kept for myself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
not bad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£16.59

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)