Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2000
If you want to understand Kosvo, Bosnia or any of Europe's recent conflicts Keegan's book on the First World War is the place to begin. It is a real page turner, readable and full of interesting facts and insights. All you need is an interest in humanity to take part in a pacy tour d'horizon of man's inhumanity to man. For example, find out how the Indians fare in France, what really happened at Gallipoli, and as an English person the relatively small part the Battle of The Somme played in the overall theatre of war. I cannot recommend it highly enough and can't wait to read Keegan's Second World War.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
The First World War is, like all history, a story of individuals and their actions.

This book abstracts all of that away and substitutes dry, dull, endless passages that make reading it tiring.

It also takes a hell of a long time to get to the war itself. Yes, the run-up is vital to understand the context but it's almost stripped of the humanity of that context.

I'll keep chipping away but it must take a special effort to turn history into something so dry and dull.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
Half way through 30 pages of this book was missing. I liked the book otherwise but this was very diapoointing.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
As an excellent overview of the key events, players, places and drivers of WW1 this is superb.
Whilst a thorough description, so that we do not lose sight of them, of the horrors of in particular the Western Front is vital, this book is the better for not having them - they are well covered in myriad other accounts of the war. In this book Keegan once again brings his knowledge, research and excellent use of English together to create what is the best WW1 account I've yet read (just beating Hasting's 'Catastrophe').
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
A readable book that gives a reasonable overview of the huge arena of the First Word War.
Unfortunately the maps in the Kindle version are all misplaced in the text and wrongly labeled.
The book is quite expensive, for an e-book and shouldn't be faulty in this way.
If a paper book was faulty like this,you would take it back to the shop for a replacement/ refund, but with
Kindle you are just stuck with a duff book..
33 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
An extremely well-written history of WW1 which should take the mantle as the definitive work on WW1 from Liddell Hart's 1932 'History of the First World War'. Covers several topics far more comprehensively than Liddell Hart. Of the First World War histories I have read only Barbara W. Tuchman's 'August 1914' is better crafted, but then that was a Pulitzer Prize-winner, often described as a masterpiece of the historian's art. Keegan writes well enough to maintain the reader's close interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
There will be more interest in WW1 now that the anniversary is imminent. This is a story well told and in sufficient detail to inform the reader without being overwhelmed. He is ready to challenge some of A J P Taylor's views. Taylor is the most accessible of historians and has appeal to the mass market. His opinions are provocative if sometimes exaggerative.

This is a well written and fully researched history which I would recommend to anyone interested in the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
Lots of illustrations make this book really great to read Well written lots of photos and maps. Would highly recommend
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2000
Very well written and puts the events associated with WW1 into their historical perspective. From the initial causes, through the relentless horror of the western trenches and eastern front, to the eventual 'fallout' of the armistice, the author provides both interesting facts and intelligent opinions. My only criticism of the book is the relative lack of maps and diagrams.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
I have purchased this as I have borrowed it so many times from the library that I thought I should really buy my own copy. This is a really good book it covers the First World War in great detail and is a valuable asset for anybody interested in finding out more about this period in history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)