Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 11 September 2009
This amazing rectified deck is breathtaking, the imagery will light up your mind and connect to your inner being. It's as if the cards talk to you through another dimension. I am not usually a fan of digital art but the imagery is so fluid it's like seeing the format of your dreams on paper. I say paper, because the deck has been really, really let down by the paper quality. The standard sized cards are thin, practically matt and very flimsy, it's such a let down and really doesn't do the artist, or the imagery, justice. I don't think that these cards would stand passing of time but the artwork is timeless.

This deck is based on the Rider-Waite deck and portrays all the elements of the Rider-Waite but in a much more poignant and identifiable way. It's easy to understand making it suitable for a beginner and yet full enough to offer the professional reader more room for insight. It also offers the professional reader the opportunity to display a mysterious, poignant and friendly deck when reading for their clients.

The accompanying book contains detailed card descriptions by tarot experts: Ciro Marchetti (the designer), Ruth Ann and Wald Amberstone, James Ricklef and Lisa ReFalo, who all offer their individual insights and meanings for each card.

I have since also bought the special edition cards which are much bigger (14cm x 8.3cm) and thicker and would also make an excellent choice for the professional reader.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2017
I got the deck and I have to say it's amazing.The Ace of Cups and the Ace of Pentacles plus de World card are definitely my favorite ones!The turquoise waves in 3 of Cups and 2 of Pentacles are also, extremely beautiful.The Ace of Cups is the most beautiful card I have ever seen in a deck.The only regret I have about these gorgeous cards is the fact they are not larger like Doreen Virtue's cards.Those beautiful images seem narrowed by the small size of the cards and it's a pity.Unlike others, I prefer large format cards because I like to admire the beauty of the images on them, particularly when it's about a Ciro Marchetti's tarot decks.
review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 4 October 2010
I bought my first tarot deck many years ago, the universal tarot to be precise, and struggled to connect with them. A few years ago i stumbled upon the gilded tarot by Ciro MarchettiThe Gilded Tarot (Boxset includes 78 card Tarot deck and Bag) and almost immediately the fascinating images meant something to me. I learnt the tarot thoroughly using these and recently (having embarked upon tarot reading professionally) I decided to treat myself to the Legacy of the Divine Tarot by Marchetti. What can I say? Absolutely superb! A real delight to read with. Again, the images are deep and meaningful, beautiful to look at and easy to connect to with your intuition working to translate them for yourself.

The accompanying book is extensive but i feel for a beginner may present a struggle. Beginners tend to like 'keywords' to be associated with the cards and a thorough explanation (as in the 78 Degrees of Widsom Seventy Eight Degrees of Wisdom) is better as you become more proficient and comfortable with the cards. The book is presented in a story format, which in itself is a delight to read, but I personally did not use the individual card analysis as I found it unhelpful.

So all in all, perhaps not a deck for the beginner (the Gilded Tarot is a beautiful deck for beginners) but certainly one of the most beautiful decks I have seen and i have checked out a few using the aecletic website.

I do not feel that the cards are flimsy at all. Their weight and stiffness is just about right. I personally do not like thick, stiff, unyielding cards but certainly would not have called these 'flimsy'.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2017
Excellent artwork as usual. Ciro Marchetti again proven himself to be one of the best when it comes to Tarot decks. The quality is outstanding and the book is a real gem. Totally worth it every cent.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2014
What a great set of cards!
The images are beautiful, but this edition doesn't do them justice. The cards should a little bit bigger and thicker. They are 11,7 cm high and 7 cm wide. The colours should be more vivid and should have a better finish, like a sheen and they should be better laminated. In this edition the cards look opaque and the colors look dull. They are somewhat thin, like the regular playing cards sold in any store. Llewellyn seriously needs to rethink the quality of their cards. This is not the first deck i own with inferior quality by this publisher.
The Legacy of the Divine Tarot Deck should have been published by US Game Systems Inc because they have better editions. Take a look at the Gilded Reverie Lenormand Deck, also by Ciro Marchetti, published by US Game Systems Inc. They are worlds apart. The quality is amazing and even the box is better.
The Book on this set is week written, but i wish it was only written by one person. There are four interpretations of each card given by four tarot readers. Sometimes, this takes depth from the meaning of the card and sometimes it's downright confusing!
Overall, i still advise it because the imagery is stunning and very intuitive. The depicted scenes really manage to immerse one in the cards and convey the meaning attached to them. If i find a better edition of there cards, i will buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2013
I had bought these after seeing them used on YouTube. But I didn't realise these cards are the standard size ones not the really large ones I had seen, which I now know were a different version. I also found that the larger ones are not available currently anyway. The cards are beautiful. Really bold and atmospheric but I am disappointed. Somehow the cards are so rich that this size doesn't do them justice. The pack comes with a book which, although I am sure is fascinating, I did not really need. I don't think there is a cards only version though. Luckily you are checking the reviews first before buying so you will know to check the size before you buy! I didn't.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2014
After the Gilded Tarot, I thought it would be interesting to get this deck too. It's much darker, literally, around the edges of the cards, and in the depiction of the humans who are more gritty and depressing, bordering on badly painted, making for a less magical, more aggressive feel. Hardly any of the cards have a positive energy about them. The High Priestess looks like a junkie, bizarre use of dragons in Ace of Wands, 10 of swords looks like he's trying not to sneeze, the Lovers seem to be a throwback to 70s porn, and the Sun looks like it only has a 20W bulb in it. But at least the faces are better painted than the inconsistent artistic quality of Tarot of Dreams, which is a masterclass in how not to paint faces; I shudder at the 4 coins, 6 coins and 9 of cups...and the Pages in Tarot of Dreams were cringeworthy. The Pages in Legacy are a massive improvement, except P of Wands. (Ciro if you're reading this, I think you have another deck to paint, but I challenge you to a deck without faces. As an artist I would like to see your talents stretched by conveying all the emotion in another, purer form). That said, most of the artwork is still outstanding, and it's fun to find the CM signature hidden somewhere. The court cards are more enlightening than those in Gilded Tarot, but the Knights are all a bit in-your-face and too similar to Death. What really annoyed me was that the book and cards come in a massive presentation box, but the cards themselves don't come in their own little storage box...even though they did think of putting a white cardboard spacer thing inside! At least you can have some fun at least making a little box for your cards from all the extraneous cardboard inside...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2012
As an established tarot card reader who has read lots of decks over the years, I find this deck to be one to be my longest standing. I am now on deck no.4 due to usage wear and tare. Graphically there is a lot in this deck packed with hidden detail. Would I recommend this deck for a beginner? No, not that is hard to read, it`s not it is just that it has a lot of detail in the cards that a beginner would miss. For example what is the significance of the owl, parchment scroll, pomegranate or the `thing` over her forehead in `The High priestess` card?. Or the Queen of Coins, that shining disc over her forehead what doe`s that mean?

Every card has an image unlike some decks that have only suit quantity images on the minors with no background giving no hint as to what the card meaning is. ie a card with a pale blue background showing nine swords and a card with a pale blue background with eight swords is more of a memory game but this deck the nine and eight of swords though containing eight or nine swords have their own individual backgrounds.

Over all, one of the best `none beginner` decks around at the moment.

The deck author also wrote `The Guilded Tarot` another of my favourite decks.

One MAJOR moan. You can not buy this deck on its` own as it comes with a 240 odd page book each time. I will at some time want another deck I do not want another book as I have four already.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2014
I fell in love with the images of this deck, I did read the reviews before purchasing, they did say the quality and size of the deck published by llewelyn wasn't good, I have a mix of 6 decks oracle & tarot, but i was still surprised when i received them, they are published on what is like a very cheap deck of playing cards! that is the only reason i give it 4 stars, i still love the images and the companion book is full of information and a story which may be true or a dream from the creator of the deck. If published on better, bigger quality of card that i would have paid more money for, this would have made the deck perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2014
The cards are stunning, full stop! The images are very colourful, vibrant and really intense (in a good way) they speak to you, feel great and are very easy to shuffle. The issue is the quality, they are not much thicker than paper and mine after 3 shuffles are already marked around the corner. Dont let this put you off because they are beautiful. Word to amazon though- the box was mangled, ripped and open!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)