Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 September 2017
Brilliant book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2000
First off it should be noted that the book should really be called "Periodisation of strength training for sport", as periodisation of an endurance training component is not really considered unless it is as a weights/resistance endurance training component (that is to say any endurance component actually performing the action of an endurance sport, e.g. running, rowing, is not considered).
That is not to detract from the value of this book or criticise it, but the agenda presented by this book is on strength/power/power endurance training by means of resistance work, i.e. weight training. While microcycles are considered, most weight is given to considering the macrocycle over a yearly development plan, through different stages of strength training. The steps of adaptation, muscular hypertrophy training, maximum strength training, power training and muscular endurance are considered and explained in detail, along with their dependency and relationship to each other, and the relevance of each type of training to particular sports.
Well worth the purchase.
0Comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
Here's the big problem with this book. There are some wonderfully researched articles in this book that are really work reading. The problem is that when the author doesn't know what he is talking about, he just starts talking out of his ass. I mean, within the very first chapter he references a fundamental fluid mechanics formula and then references it to a paper written in 1977. Not to mention most of what he is talking about there is just nonsense. At another point, he tells you that the reason that weight lifters shoes slant forward is so that the weight can be kept on our toes when we are squatting wtf!!?!!

This means that you simply struggle to believe some of the other stuff in there. I really don't know how much of it was accurate and i need to go and read another well researched book just to be sure.
22 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
He is no bodybuilding expert, but why would he be with the wealth of high sports performance knowledge he has, the hypertrophy phase is merely used as a means to get to better places and phases in training. As for high performance elite training, and making sure you follow the right training methods in the right order, and how to go about doing it, this is the best book for clear and concise sound, tested and proven Sport Science. This book is even good for a Personal Trainer to use on clients and take them through a periodization cycle, and to get them from weak to elite in a professional manner. How many personal trainers do you see who will think about anatomical adaptations, to a conversion phase ? More times you will see PT's doing things with their clients they are not ready for, and even using plyometric and elastic band training on a new client just to look interesting. This book makes you stop and think and to do things in the right way. This book is an integrals part of the studies to all personal trainers and coaches alike, it is a must buy and a must read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2010
This is a good book tells you everything you really need to know about the periodisation of training. The only improvement to this would be more information about the peridoisation of aerobic and anaerobic training programs, however this is a very informative book in terms of weight training for athletes in all sports.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2009
I fully agree with the review from 29/11/2000 so I will not repeat anything there. This is essential reading if you are serious about sport, as an athlete or coach. I am not aware of any books as affordable that are easily avaiable in the UK. This work also avoids too much complex science so is more accessible than other similar works.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2011
you master this discipline? you don't know what is it importance? doesn't matter...
you will find it very cientific supported, and very practical.
very well organized book about this theme, supported from the best man "Tudor Bompa PhD" on the ground about it.
if you are a trainer (personnal or gym) you must have this, it will help you to prescribe training, identifying where is you trainee on his/her training program schedule, to maximize they performance, and reduce injury.
Tudor bompa says it all...

Best regards,
MárioP
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2009
This is a very good book for anyone looking to increase their knowledge of how to create effective periodised programs, everything is writen in detail and explained fully,this really is a must for any fitness professional or even for the average jo who wants to write their own programs.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2012
This book is excellent indeed!! 30 years in sports and it still taught me things, which I did not know. My training progress had been improved tremendously since I applied the methods outlined.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
fantastic book for anyone looking to learn about periodisation however be prepared to deal with Bompas rather long winded writing style. fantastic book I recommended for personal trainers who have patience
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)