Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more


on 26 January 2015
A great collection of stories from a modern fun monk. He has a great sense of humor that you may not expect from such a religious character but it makes him human and I instantly warmed to his teaching.

A real London boy and certainly has the gift of the gab. That's not to say he is not a serious Buddhist but his teaching is very westernized and easy to relate to.

The stories can easily be understood by any one from children to pensioners. A lot of the stories will provide comfort and understanding for life's problems.

Check him out on Youtube there is lots of him and you will find many of the stories in the book being used for live meditation and talks.

You can also download some of his recordings if you do a quick search. Amazon don't allow links here but I'm sure you can find them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2017
A collection of stories selected to show the powerful effect of applying kindness and caring to many situations and problems. I have used Ajahn Brahm's 'Welcome the pain' suggestion, with confidence derived from his well told stories. It always has a good effect, and gives me laugh when I remember the accompanying jokes. Laughter is the best medicine and there are plenty of doses in this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2013
Ajahn Brahm is an hugely entertaining Buddhist monk who came from London, having studied at Cambridge, UK and now living in W.Australia where he runs retreats for those wishing to come to peace and consolidate their learning s.
this book is a resume of the talks (available via YouTube), the like you may never have heard or seen before. Brahm is almost more a stand up, or sit down comedian with his wit and repartee.
Invaluable knowledge, sadness and joy can all be found in this timeless classic.
Is it for you? YES!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2017
I am biased as I am a huge fan of Ajahn Brahm since discovering his podcasts and YouTube videos a few moths ago. As far as I am concerned, he is one of the most extraordinary thinkers alive in the world today, and his messages are of the paramount importance in today’s world. His unique background as a theoretical physicist, then his lifelong exploration of Buddhism betrays a remarkably curious mind, unsatisfied and unimpressed by the powerful forces which seem to dominate our lives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2017
A wonderful book. I've bought three now, for myself and two friends. Lovely, thought-provoking anecdotes in short chapters, so you can just dip into it as needed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2018
a must read, one can learn so much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2017
The sort of book you could recommend to anyone - it's full of interesting and inspiring stories about dealing with life. His style makes it all very accessible whether you know anything about Buddhism or not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2017
bought for wife and she loved reading it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2015
This is an uplifiting book of Buddhist tales, that all have a postive point to make. For those who follow the talks given on the Darma by Ajahn Brahm on U tube, this book is a must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2018
Amazing .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)