Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 August 2001
Unlike many supposedly quick cookery books, this one doesn't assume the reader to posses a wide range of bizarre and very fresh ingredients available only from a mongolian village market or Harrods. It is a great introduction to anyone new to vegetarian cuisine, introducing some fundemental uses of staple foods such as pulses and grains and it does so without pretention and in a way that allows the ingredients to be fully appreciated. The recipies are simple and refreshing and wholly practical.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2002
As a budding vegetarian I purchased this book solely on its title. And it has so far lived up to the claim. I find the recipes easy to follow, the ingredients readily available, and the end product tastes good as well. The lentil roast and wholemeal scones (which I have never made before) have become firm favourites. Looking for somewhere to start your adventures in cooking? - purchase this and you're away.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2002
If I had to take only one cookbook to a desert island, this would be it! Unlike some supposedly "quick and easy" books, this one contains loads of recipes that really are fast, economical and easy to make. The recipes really do work, and, just as essentially, they're tasty too! Also...they don't require tons of high-tech kitchen gadgets and most of the ingredients are likely to be found in your local supermarket. If not, the writer often suggest alternative ingredients/methods.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2009
I bought this book over 20 years ago and still use it today. We're not vegetarians, but recipies from this book give variety to our diet and help with the budget. The meals genuinuely are easy to make and with cheap ingredients.

Really sad to see that it's out of print at the moment.

See if you can find a copy if you want to save money on your food budget and eat more healthily while still enjoying your food.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
This book is full of easy recipes using not too many ingredients which we wouldn't normally carry in our store cupboard.
It is a good book to use for people just turning vegetarian giving plenty of ideas with recipes which turn out well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
If you want to make sure that your veggie meals are tasty and nutritious, then this is the book for you. Easy to prepare from ingredients that are widely available, even the cook with limited time and money can make sure that everyone is well fed and properly nourished on a vegetarian diet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2007
I have a shelf-full of 'VEGGIE',cookbooks[including more of Rose Elliot's] but this is the one I return to time after time.She gives you the basics but once you get the general idea of a recipe you can get creative and branch off on your own using alternative/extra ingredients.This book was first published in 1988 but I think it's still the best!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
Really good simple recipes that use beans and pulses in many of the dishes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
great recipes for cheap and easy vegetarian meals, just like it's title
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2016
I would recommend this book .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)