Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 22 February 2015
Great book. Be warned though it gets pretty technical.

This is from the days where watchmakers brewed their own cleaning solutions, made their own tools, it even contains instructions to scratch build a Fusee clock.

Expect calculations on pendulum strike etc. It wusses out of telling you about gear cutting and refers you back to the authors other book on Watch Repairing, but pretty much everything else is covered.

Recommended if you want to learn the trade...but don't expect a hayes manual like step by step guide to fixing your clock. I bought it as a pre-read to understand the theory and tricks of the trade before I try and build my own clock and for that it is perfect.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 December 2017
This is the seminal work on the subject. The only criticism is that it has been reprinted so many times that the paper and print quality are not as good as they once were!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2012
After buying another book in order to start to find out how my clock works and oput it working again, I found that book too tequnical and covered too many types of make. I bought this book as primarily the descriptions and diagrams are mainly concerned with a Smiths/Enfield chiming clock, which is the clock I needed to know about. The book is a great help and was invaluable. If your a complete beginner I would recommend it.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2013
This is quite an interesting book for would be clock repairers and those with more experience alike. I would appreciate a little more simplification for less experienced readers, but I am sure with determination and concentration, the would be clock repairer will get there.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 December 2014
Along with his other masterpiece "Practical Watch Repairs" these are impressive books. We know that because other authors of timepiece publications use the books as references. Once you get into them you realise they are special.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2015
have yet to go into detail with the book as only arrived a couple of days ago but from what i have seen so far it looks ideal for a novice like me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 January 2013
This book, despite being a very old reprint, has lots of history and shows that for general repairs, nothing has changed in the repair and maintainance of clocks in general
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2017
😊
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2015
Good informative book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2017
Some of the description for fixing the bellows is not for the layman but overall it is what it is although a little expensive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse