Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 20 April 2017
Perfect has the information and historiography for history a level.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
the book is great! it has great explaination and activities which help you make notes for yourself and best of all the diagrams provide wonder explainations. a must buy for any history student wonting an insight in to weimar and nazi germany!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2002
Weimar & Nazi Germany is a great textbook, for AS, A Level students or though those that have a strong interest in this topic. Written by two authors (John Hite and Chris Hinton) that know exactly what they are talking about, it flows easily from one topic to the next with just the right amount of information for study as well as pleasure.
Packed full of pictures, charts and diagrams it makes it easier for the reader to follow. The only downfall of the book is that it is printed in black and white and after a while can make the reader lose interest but the content does make up for this problem.
I would strongly recommend this to any AS or A Level student, even if they feel that they know and understand the work already. I bought this book with another one that they had written "Fascist Italy" as it covers the other part of my AS course.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2003
An unbiased account, in the main, of this difficult period of German History. Pitfalls that others fall into are avoided, such as the categorisation of Nazi Supporters/Weimar Losers into classes, rather than correctly, due to individual experiences. A must have for Modern History students!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2003
I first got recommended this book by my history tutor, to aid my learning, and with this book, i managed to achieve a substantially high grade. This book gives excellent detail, references and is brilliant for revision. I noted that during my course my understanding of the subject became more in depth. This book is a must for all A-level students
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2009
This is an excellent AS A2 textbook which covers all the areas in the Edexcel A level syllabus on Weimar and Nazi Germany. It is very well organised with an excellent use of historical sources. It is also very good at covering the main historiographical arguments in an accessible way which is important for students wishing to do well. A particular strength is where they analyse the various arguments about whether Hitler was a strong or weak dictator which comes up most years in the Unit 6 exam. They refer to the historian Ian Kershaw regularly and the BBC series, The Nazis, A warning from history (In which Kershaw contributed) works well with this book too. Especially the first two programmes. No A level class should be without this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2013
I chose this book to compliment my Access to University course. The book is exactly what i needed. It is in depth but easy to read and gives little nuggets of information that are handy to know if your work has to demonstrate independent learning. Nost of my class have ordered it. My copy was used but in excellent condition. Delivered before the expected date, this is another fine example of Amazon retailing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 May 2008
has a non biased view and an excellent amount of information in here with many activities for a-level students

however if there was to be a 2nd addition there would need to be some colour and some breaks in the paragraphs because much of chris's excellent views and information aren't poitned out so clearly
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2013
Great material for teaching or just gaining knowledge - really interesting and well illustrated! Well structured and huge amount of resources.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2014
Excellent book which I would recommend anybody to purchase if they want a good core advanced level text for top level GCSE or A -Level.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)