Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 4 April 2015
A fascinating insight in our use of words.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2008
Has a comprehensive bibliography for future research, and two sets of indicies so can be used as a text book. However you can also read it as a story book. I was surprised just how fascinating the history and development of the concepts behind each of the words described turned out to be.
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2009
Wow! Chanced across this book and thought it sounded good, but it is far better than that! If you have ever wondered about the origin of words in English, want to know which words come to us via where (and often when and why!) or what a calque is (makes you think twice about your mortgage!) then consider this book: it's word trivia galore! Very readable, easy to reference, highly enjoyable and absolutely fascinating.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2010
The Secret Life of Words: How English Became English (Paperback) give a brilliant account of hoe and when the various words that were introduced into the English language and also how that langusge changed and adopted including non-Englisg words into every day use. It is surprising thh amount of words that were introduced. This is a good book for the study ot the development of the Englaih language
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 May 2015
Getting to know you
Getting to feel free and easy
When I am with you
Getting to know what to say
- The King And I - Getting To Know You Lyrics | MetroLyrics

Did you ever wonder how English became English? There are a plethora of books on the word origins, some amusing, and some in depth. But no other book quite as well targets how it got from there to here as Henry Hitchings' descriptions.

Occasionally he appears to be wordy but don't let this fool you. Everything he says leads to a point. And it's the point of why you're reading this book.

One book cannot hold everything. However the author makes a good stab at it here. Just going through the bibliographies and indexes will take quite some time.

I've read books on euphemisms and anachronisms and found them interesting. Yet I never realized how interesting just common words could be. Knowing a little bit of their origin I do strive to say things like children instead of kids. And always wonder what happened to kine?

In any event will find a lot of information packed into a small book. You will wonder how you live so long without knowing this information.

This book is a keeper for your library and you will want to reference it periodically.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2009
Much more than words - a tour round English history through the medium of our language. Very readable and disappointing to finish!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2011
Nice tome for those interested in English Philology. Delivery was protracted due to Xmas rush and weather, but got to me before Christmas.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2012
I bought this book as a Christmas present for my Dad, and he loves it. I would recommend it to others.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
dont be fooled by the trendy cover-this is NOT 'words for dummies'.the breadth is breathtaking so dont think you can dip in and out. you may find that you need a dictionary beside you as you read--this is a weighty tome and not for the casual observer! it is, despite this,well worth the effort!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2012
This lists where words where derived from but does not really explain the transformations. It would have been better going into more depth on fewer words and tracing their alterations.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)