Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
160
The Great Game: On Secret Service in High Asia
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 27 July 2015
Well told tale of individuals and imperialism in the nineteenth century over territory in India, Afghanistan and Tibet. Brought to life through the accounts of names from the past, of their intrigues and courage, now largely forgotten with their battles and deeds, but with a historical context relevant today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 1999
This was not supposed to be my type of book at all and boy was I pleasantly surprised.
It's gripping and enlightening and I cant beleive that it all actually happened...wow.
This guy knows his stuff and it's beautifully written.
Don't be put of by the subject matter...this book is dynamic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2017
This is an extremely well written and immensely readable account of a fascinating period of modern history.
I thoroughly recommend this book to those with an appetite to understand the political, diplomatic and military machinations in this largely unexplored, primitive and often barbaric region.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2010
A great book of the history of life in and beyond the North West frontier - with the true facts which triggered Kipling's 'Man who would be King' story.
Why does the West think we know better than those who live there - some things never change.
A superb history of espionage in the region.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2015
Simply one of the best of history books. I cannot add much more than the excellent coverage other reviewers have given this 5-star book, but my own opinion this is a fitting tributes to the players in an earlier phase of the Great Game that no-doubt is continuing to this day. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2014
Whether it is the stories of brave men, exploration, espionage or betrayal and skulduggery this account of the long running battle between Imperial Britain and expansionist Russia in the Middle East and near Asia is essential reading. I just wonder whybitbhas taken me so long to find it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2014
A wonderful look at the clash of empires in one of those parts of the world less well-covered by historians.
Full of anecdotes and tales of heroes and villains getting up to all sorts and defying the odds, and I am really looking forward to reading more of Mr Hopkirk's books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2014
Excellent read. Full of interesting information and people. The pitch was perfect for me. I knew little about the time, the region or the people and I didn't feel lost once. My only gripe is that the kindle version doesn't contain any maps which really help while reading this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2009
This is a history that explains so much of how and why Central Asia has become the place it is now. It describes with great clarity how meddling, scared Europeans made such an impact on the area. Fascinating, very well written and keeps your interest from page one to the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2015
Awesome stories of endurance and fortitude. Full of great men.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse