Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 11 November 2013
Great for anyone who likes Jimmy Carr and/ or is interested in jokes and/ or stand up comedy. Interesting, funny, well written and researched.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As a joke writing teacher I know a lot of students come to class clutching this book hoping it will tell them how to write jokes. It doesn't. It is however a romp through the history of jokes, a diversion into dirty jokes, taboo jokes, political jokes. It's packed with jokes basically, which makes it a fabulous read and a nice diversion. I particularly liked the jokes from `repressive' regimes down the centuries and some of the taboo ones made me gasp!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2010
Book Arived in good condition and on time, the book itself is a good read and full of jokes and thought proviking subjects.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2009
I had certain expectations with this book. The positive ones were proved right and the negative ones were proved wrong.
First of all I thought Jimmy Carr might just be a name to sell the book and that Lucy Greeves might be the real author. I suspect I was wrong: it does actually read like they both had an input thoughout. Secondly, I worried that if Jimmy Carr did have an input I might not like his input. I was wrong: in the words of David Walliams on the back cover "Like most people I hate Jimmy Carr but this book is OK"). I thought there was a possibility that this book might be an interesting exploration of what jokes were really about. I was right. I worried that you can't have a serious discussion and a laugh at the same time - one would win out over the other. I was wrong: the serious bits are interesting and thought-provoking and the examples are funny.
Highly recommended to anyone with a brain and a sense of humour (if neither of these apply then don't buy it!).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
A very good book that looks into the different facets of humour, with jokes on every single page
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2010
Though not a particular fan of Jimmy Carr (manly due to the stiffness of his joke, joke, joke formula of stand up and occasional over-reliance on shock humour) I did find this book incredibly endearing and funny.

The first thing you'll noticed when reading this book is how well written it is - performing and admirable and difficult task of being entertaining and informative at the same time whilst also maintaining a fast paced writing style.

At the foot of each page is an archive joke to keep you hooked (with its author credited where available) as well as a selection of classic jokes at the end of each chapter.

Put simply this book does everything you want and more - exploring the meaning, psychology and history of humour and jokes. It's consistently funny, informative and well written.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2017
I like Jimmy Carr humour but this din't captivate me to the end of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2008
valuable insight into the structures and history of jokes - and a great jokebook itself!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
still reading it, strange reading about theory of comady
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2015
Perfect for people with this specific sense of humour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)