Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
64
Arabesque: A Taste of Morocco, Turkey and Lebanon
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£20.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 August 2017
excellent north african/arabic cook book,full of very interesting recipies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2017
Gorgeous book. Gorgeous recipes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2017
Lovely, lovely, lovely....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2016
Nice as a present !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2014
This is much more than a recipe book. I had to sneak a look through it before wrapping it as a Christmas gift for a friend. If you love cooking with the huge variety of spices and herbs which characterise the food from this part of the world, you should buy the book for that alone. The descriptions of the places and contexts really conjure up vivid pictures of the land, its people and customs.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2010
my mother is from lebanon and i originally bought this book for her, then ended up keeping it and buying a second copy, then two more for my sisters, and we all use them several times a week. this is perfect food for big families or gatherings where you have a lot of hungry mouths to satisfy, lovely big meals, luxurious and deeply flavoured, impressive looking but, secretly, rather easy to knock up.

i have cooked perhaps seventy or eighty percent of the recipes in here and haven't encountered a bad one yet. if you love italien food but haven't taken the plunge south yet this is the perfect starting place, and if you already love north african and middle eastern cuisine this will probably still throw up a couple of new gems.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 March 2017
It seems to be more than a cooking book - culture, hospitality and the true love for food and cooking. Her cooking books are inspiring and truly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2006
This is a truly wonderful cookbook - my book of the year so far. Claudia Roden writes beautifully and there is not a recipe in this book that I don't want to cook. A book of three parts, Turkey, Lebanon and Morroco, the differences in these cuisines are quite marked even when using similar ingredients. There are some delicious tagine recipes along with pilafs and fish dishes and the desserts are sublime (try the Turkish yoghurt cake!), but for me the mezze recipes are a real standout. You can easilly make a full meal out of a handful of recipes from this great collection and I often do. The variety of the dishes and their stunning flavour is remarkable. I cannot say enough good things about Claudia Roden and this incredible book. If you enjoy cooking something a little out of the ordinary you won't regret buying this book for a second.
0Comment| 98 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2013
A wonderful book to have with great, not very difficult, recipes and nice to know background information. As a vegetarian there are plenty of recipes to try. Love the pictures too!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2009
The recipies are really reliable and her instructions are clear and usable . Its become the book I use most often and almost all of the ingredients are available from larger supermarkets as well as specilist food stores . I cant reccomend it too highly to anyone who enjoys cooking !
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)