Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
59
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 June 2013
The author is an accomplished writer whose metaphors are poignant and connects to the reader at a real human level. Ms. Moran is a national treasure, a brave courageous woman who took a look at the global issue of sex abuse inherent and is what prostitution is. This book is a testimony of human resilience. This high quality memoir bears all the horrors of prostitution married to sexism and gender based violence and compelled me without a doubt to back the 'Turn off the Red Light' campaign.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
This isnt a story to be getting off on, it's a true story of the harsh reality of the 'sex industry'. Rachel works hard to maintain an objective view of a large chunk of her life, she doesn't pull her punches or baulk at describing the relentlessness of the abuses inflicted on prostitutes by those who have paid for the experience on those who are deemed to have agreed by accepting the money.

Her story tells of a society that colludes in these abusive relationships that damage the whole of our society and not just those who engage in them. Well worth a read.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2016
The attitude of prostitutes described by Ms Moran is to 'rip-off' their clients as a matter of course. Charge as much as you can get away with, give as little as possible then get rid off them as soon as possible. This begs the question 'who is exploiting who?'. Needless to say this is never a question asked by the author. I have known many women from very poor and neglected backgrounds and they would never have thought about prostituting themselves - not for a moment. The fact is that many of those who do go into prostitution are lazy and self-pitying. Unless they are forced by gangs or pimps then they as individuals choose to take that first client, they choose to take that first hit of heroin.They feed on the kind of ideological 'victimhood' culture perpetuated by the likes of Ms Moran. Women are ALL victims of male violence of one kind or another and ALL men are abusers in one way or another. This is the usual sociological Feminist claptrap we still hear all too much of. Many prostitutes are self-employed business women controlling their own lives (work and personal) in a thoroughly successful way. However, this doesn't fit the 'victim' scenario and these women we are told are being exploited by men but they don't want to accept this 'fact'. Ironically, it is the Fem-Fascists who are the most patronising and contemptuous towards their own sex. Like all theories - Freudian, Marxist or Feminist, they bare no reality when put up against the lived experience.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
Ms Moran became a child prostitute at 15 years old. What is amazing about her story is despite leaving school early, coming from a seriously dysfunctional family and becoming homeless at an early age she still managed to go back to university and get a degree and turn her life around. This is probably one of the reasons why the book is well written and informative. I found it interesting as I used to live near the part of Dublin where she worked so this book was a real eye opener for me.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
I bought this book in the kindle pre release for one very simple reason.

The author claims she spent the years between '91 and '93 standing about 15 yards across the road from me to work. I have met Moran at a conference and already knew this to be untrue, but I wanted to see if there were any verifiable facts at all in the book.

There were none...not one single mention of a familiar person or event. Not only did the author not work where she claimed she did, she apparently has no idea at all about the real people who did. She does not even know the material facts of sex work, at that time, itself.

This book is simple fraud and beyond that incredibly insulting and hurtful to the real people, not just sex workers, and clients, but Gardaí and residents who, among other things, were neither stupid, nor indifferent enough to walk on by while a drug addled child (sic) sold sex in front of them.

I should have posted this review right away, but I was scared of identifying myself and assumed Amazon would not let the review appear anyway, however I have now sworn out an affidavit in my own name which is online here:
[...]

I am happy to make notarised hard copy available to Amazon at any time upon request.
1616 Comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
There are no words to describe the heart of this dear sister, and that after all she has been through. She is very much the real deal in real life, and people desperately need to hear her story and her insights. She was there, she knows, she saw things from the inside as they truly were, not as people think or say that don't know, or guess, or statistically analyze one dimensional observation.

I couldn't be more proud of her, and I will stand by her no matter what because I know.

Thank you sister, you are truly a Free Irish Woman. :)
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
I simply do not understand reviewers who say this is an odd read though not taking away at all from that being their experience. Had they read to the end they would have understood that the journalistic / auto biographical hybrid style of writing was because the writer was doing more than merely writing a memoir, and certainly not writing it to titilate - I can't help but feel that is what some readers seemed to be expecting. It is a book designed to raise awareness and cast the spotlight on the horror that is prositiution while simultaneously dispelling the myths surrounding it invoking 'choice' and the 'empowered female'.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Rachel Moran is a brave woman to be so open about her past. Rather than some inward looking self-pitying autobiography, Moran considers her situation in relation to other women and to society at large to question how it is that people can end up in the situation that she did and why it is that prostitution continues to be tolerated today. A thought provoking read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
An inspirational, thought provoking, mind changing book. Not comfortable reading but worth the unease that has to be experienced to appreciate the significance of Rachel's story.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
this is a truly open and honest account of what is happening in ever town and city across the world.megan thank you for givng a voice to the many women who feel they cant or have no way out.you are an inspiration.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)