Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
15
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 May 2004
This book provides a useful introduction to Macroeconomics for first year undergraduates. It is best used as a base to develop and intuition and feel for the subject, but is, on the whole, quite simplistic, and one should try to quickly move on to a more technical reading, such as Macroeconomics by Blanchard, which is more mathematical, and provides a better base for further study.
Has good sections on Economic Growth and open ecnomomy macroeconomics.
Recommended for those who want to avoid calculus and maths in general! Those with stronger mathematical skills may find it a bit frustrating.
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2007
Having recently started my first year at University studying economics, this was one of two books that i was advised to buy. I have found it a vital aid to the marcroeconomic lectures, it explains concepts clearly and uses excellent up to date examples. My only problems with the book are that it does not cover the mathematical notes in enough detail and because it is an American book the majority of figures and exaples are based upon the US economy. But these minor problems should not put you off an excellent book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2008
This book is good, make no mistake about it, but bloody hell is it wordy. I'm a man who likes his facts coming to him quick and dirty, but Mankiw sets off on a grand crusade to make everything very very long. Not that this isn't a good thing for some people, but not my cup of tea.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
As an economics graduate of some 50 years I wanted to revisit the basics and this book is far better than the texts i studied. I await with interest an edition that addresses why economists totally failed to predict the crisis of 2008 and seem to have no coherent remedies to the problems it exposed.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2009
I have read Blanchard and didn't like it so well. Too confusing. Mankiw's book is the best macro book at this level that I have read. It is incredibly well presented and explained. He is clear like glass and one topic flows into the next like a hand to a couture glove. Admittedly there's not much maths in it but frankly there's so much covered (550 pages) that adding in sufficient maths would make this gargantuan and probably wouldn't sell much. This is a book about generally understood economic ideas and tenets and the job done is splendid. From here, and assuming you know the maths, I'd suggest tackling Wendy Carlin's Macroeconomics if you want to get your teeth into some harder stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2011
i haven't used any other macro books so it will be a slightly biased review. but then again i didn't need to. i am in 2nd year of uni and i can say this book is so easy to read and understand, i wish all my other modules had books written by Mankiw. above all he makes macroeconomics seem a very interesting subject. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2010
Well done and extremely happy about it. A good book that explains very well. The book act as teacher to me. Many explanations come in diagrams and real-life examples (with colurs too!) which help students like me to be able to understand better. Although is in the fifth edition which is not the latest, but it proves handy enough especially for those whose budget is slightly tight. Difference between this edition and the sixth is little anyway. A well worth buying book. Bought with no regrets.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
Despite being second hand, the textbook looks as good as new! It arrived on time and is exactly what I wanted. Very pleased with the product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
Great book! Better than expected, Why? Because it gives good analytical explanations of each of its topics in macroeconomics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2011
book arrived far earlier than predicted and the condition of the book was almost brand new! great value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£53.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)