Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
98
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2015
This book doesn't have photos so is useless in the field, I can't use it to identify specimens which means it doesn't fit the description of "The Essential Guide". Also the list in chapter 12 - "A Wild Food Calendar" doesn't have reference numbers to find the species in the book. So one has to then refer to the index which sometimes isn't clear, (for example I looked up Barberry from the December list and it isn't in the index) to find the page to find the species and then there still isn't a picture. I would not have bought this as it is not my idea of an Essential Guide. So I have to buy another book now.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
A practical guide to preparing NOT finding wild food. This is not an ID book, there are no photos.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
Grewat book thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
Returned product as we are first time foragers and need pictures sometimes to identify wild food. Unfortunately no pictures in this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
What can I say. The book's title would lead you to believe that you can use this book to go foraging. This is not true unless you already have a good handle on botany. The descriptions are not detailed enough to guide you as to what each plant looks like. One description is so dismissive, explaining that all boys know what it looks like, well I am sure they may know what the plant looks like but unless you also know the name of the plant then how can you possibly make the link between book and plant? You will need to get an identification book to use this book which invariably means you do not need this book. It does give a few recipes but it is called "Foraging, the essential guide to free wild food" it is not called the "essential guide to cooking the food you foraged using another book to identify it".
Don't expect to go foraging using this as a guide
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
Got this as the reviews seemed to be very positive. However, as a beginner in foraging I found it very difficult to follow as it has no illustrations of the plants and the descriptions could be, well, more descriptive. Will now look for a more suitable book with full illustrations and descriptions. When your dealing with mushrooms and other potentially dangerous plants a full description and illustration is essential.
66 Comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
The book itself is excellent but the description on the Amazon page needs revision - it's pitched as being "Aimed at the beginner, it also has a wealth of tips for the enthusiast" whereas this is actually a detailed guide to what to do with the plants you forage rather than a useful guide for the complete beginner. If you already recognise plants in the wild and just need some guidance about what's edible/useful, then go for it. If you're not so sure about plants, make sure you pick up a well-illustrated botanist's guide as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
didnt show any detail of what to look for just the recipes. ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
My husband is something of a would-be forager and loves the idea of gathering food for free whilst enjoying long walks with our children. We have a number of books on mushrooms, many on wildlife, a couple on plants, but what they don't do, and what Foraging by John Lewis-Stempel does so well, is provide interesting ways to use these gathered treasures. From Hazlenut Shortbread to Comfrey Fritters, Bullace Vodka to Pickled Samphire, this book is full of wonderful sounding recipes, both unusual and mouth-watering. Lewis-Stempel writes well and with humour (road-kill Herby Squirrel Burgers made smile) and his love of everything the great outdoors has to offer is palpable. This book is a perfect addition to any nature lovers bookcase.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
I don't normally write reviews, but in this case I'd like to stop anyone else from making my mistake. Put plainly; this book has no pictures and is thus all but useless to anyone new to foraging. I've given it two stars from that perspective as it is useful when combined with my other foraging book, that has pictures.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)