Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 25 June 2017
Bob Carss covers this subject in great detail and explains everything step by step making it understandable. He doesn't just say look for this and that he explains the principals and skills involved in tracking in various environment. I founf it a great book to read along side another book by Perry McGee called the Essential Tracking handbook which is only available from the National Tracking School.

Bob Carrs covers many areas surrounding tracking and pursuit. not just tracks, sign and spoor. He loos at concealment moving at night and much much more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
A very interesting book, as we live in the country with lots of animal tracks. This book has taught me how to read them. Well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
Interesting book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2012
This is a great book. Its packed with good material, well ordered, no fluff, good examples and good suggestions on how to practice. I always open new books to have a quick 5 minutes tour so I know where material is when I want to look into a particular topic; with this book, my quick tour lasted an hour it was that good! Better, only with going through a proper tracking course with a proper instructor and even then this book would make a good reference material! Did I mention its a great book? Yep, I'm chuffed!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2010
As already said, this does mostly focus in 'man tracking' but that doesnt matter! The techniques are universally applicable its just that the shape is different.

I have many tracking books and have attended several tracking courses and would say this book is written in the most useful way.

If you want to teach yourself trcking from a book rather than attending a course then this is probably the best one. It illustrates the signs to look for, what to do when you loose the track how to follow a trail etc.
There is plenty of information in this book that is just not in the others!

This book along with Ian Maxwells 'Animal signs ID' would certainly help you on your way!
And then if you really get into tracking 'Animal trakcs and signs, Bang and Dahlstrom' is a good book on animal signs (not really 'tracking') and Tom Brown Jr's 'Guide to Nature awareness and tracking'is also worth a read and will help 'complete the picture' so to speak.

If you are happy to have 4 books on tracking get all of these, If you are happy to have 2 get this and Max's and If you only want one book on tracking buy this one
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Hi Fellow trackers.

This paper back book written by and ex SAS tracker and is invaluable in increasing your knowledge of tracking both humans and animal alike.

254 pages of print with many black and white drawings and illustrations combine to make this book an interesting and informative read and a good reference to come back to time and time again.

There is an emphasis on tracking the human form but the tracking of animals and vehicles is also covered. There are chapters on night movement, stalking techniques and deception and deductive skills.

Many of the techniques covered by this book can be applied to tracking both human and animal forms.

All in all an excellent guide to tracking which should be on the bookshelf of anyone with an interest in tracking both animal and human forms.

For tracking specific African animal forms check out Photographic Guide to Tracks and Tracking in Southern Africa (Photographic Guides)

Keep the wind in your face and the sun on your back. Enjoy your tracking! Bwana Foster
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2017
The book I got had a bit of damage on the cover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
This book is well written and is full of excellent information on tracking, I have used this book to help train my cadets and it was a great help with exercises to help them learn the art of tracking, very happy with this book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2010
I bought this book with no knowledge of tracking whatso ever!
Haaving read the book I now have a sound understanding of the methods used in tracking and also some very good games for the mind to keep you sharp! Well worth a read however I'd reccomend you go out in the field and create your own 'signs' to reiterate what the book says just for clarification!
The pictures are ok but would have been better if they were real photos!
Overall I found it really interesting and would reccommend it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)