Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
16
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 June 2017
There are some very useful sections to tis book and it is well written. This is the latest edition and it ha been revised. It does bring some colour to the late Republic but I would recommend reading the introduction before purchasing so you are very clear about what he authors are trying to do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2017
Arrived in time, ready for coursework yay! (sob)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
One of the set texts for this year's studies in History. Read it at a sitting stuck in Luton airport and it kept me sane.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2016
Exactly as described. Set books for my Classics course
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2015
Bought for open university course.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
Essential reading!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2010
This book I found very useful for the period concerned. In my second year of Classical studies it provided an accessible introduction to the late republic and a look ahead to the early empire.

It is a short book and the beauty of it is it's concise narrative. It is not a chronological history but a thematic history covering topics such as the Social Order, Religious interests, Political Institutions, and the Working of Politics. It also has a chapter on the provinces.

If you are looking for a comprehensive study of every single thing of the late empire this is not you're book. But as I said it is a light and clear introduction, indicating the fundamental issues and prompting where an enthusiast should search for information with an impressive and extensive Bibliography of both ancient and modern sources.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Very informative in illuminating this period dramatic period of Roman history is very clearly written helping to raise new issues for my essay writing,worth every penny.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
Quick delivery, good quality.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2011
My wife has this book, as part of a collection of set books, that she requires, for her Open University module A219 Exploring the Classical world. She has found it informative and well written, in language that even a complete novice, like herself, can understand. Unfortunately she has been told, that it only has a small amount of usable information, that is relevant to her module, but nevertheless,she said it's still a good read.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)