Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
16
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2015
Really great book. it tells you also the settings that were used in the examples. Really well written and really useful. Absolutely recommend it if you have a DIY approach to photography
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2010
Having dabbled with Low-Light Photography in the past, I wanted to learn more and got this book.

It does run through the basics you need to start with, including the basic kit you need. It runs through different scenarios, different light and using angles effectively, all the way through to using Photoshop to correct images.

Although I found the book useful, I feel it's got something missing. Though is possibly as the last photography book I bought was Light, Science and Magic which explains everything in much further detail.

Even so, I'd recommend this book.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2009
This is an excellent guide to taking night and low-light images. The book covers three main areas; 1) how to take low-light images, 2) various low-light situations such as lanscapes, the urban environment and portraits, and 3) post camera image production.

The author's writing style is clear and informative which when coupled with the excellent photographs makes this one of the best books I have read on the subject.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2011
I bought this prior to travelling to Spitzbergen in anticipation of having to photograph in very low light levels. As it turned out there was plenty of light! Anyway the book is clearly written with solid advice and plenty of practical guidance for a range of different scenarios. There is of course no substitute for practice and I was inspired to go out in the dark and take photographs that I would never have taken previously. This is a fairly specialist area and technically quite challenging but the modern DSLR camera is a remarkable thing and most users only utilise a fraction of their cameras facilities. This book will give you the confidence to go out with your tripod and try something different.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
Books content is spot on,my type of photography ,however the AMAZON home print failed in so many ways.Paper and print quality was like it came from a home printer after being scanned . No definition in the images and a horrible ,none sharp font through out the book. The high street editions are the real deal and worth every penny of the extra couple of pound.
If you buy counterfit goods (These are legally produced and sold as part of the publishers deal )you get the lack of quality .
Age old addage "you get what you paid for"
No problem with Amazon getting them returned for a refund.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
I have read this a few times now and enjoy the flow and content very much. One of the better books on this topic I would say.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2012
As a keen photographer and this being a David and Charles book, I was expecting easily read print and of course their usual quality production, with lots of crisp glossy photographs to study. What I got was paper with a dusty feel to it, an Introduction I gave up trying to read (blue text on a blue sky), and an overall quality that would have been easily surpassed by any book back in the 1970's. So if you too are expecting a great quality book, I would stongly suggest you choose a different title as my copy is destined for the nearest charity shop.

I did email David and Charles about the quality, and sad to say (and surprisingly so) no response.

In the end I bought a second hand copy of "Night & Low-Light Photography" by Lee Frost.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
Well written, a good read and a useful book to dip into just before you go out in the evening, or morning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
Very interesting and informative with lovely good quality images.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2015
Very helpful book for a photographer just starting out
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)