Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 23 September 2015
I intend to start doing cross stitch again after a long break and this book has all I need. How to start in easy language and lovely projects. Just what I wanted.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2017
Very good information. Received as advised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2015
Lovely book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2012
I gave this to my mother, an experienced needlewoman of some 60 years who has recently taken up Cross Stitch. She has found it incredibly useful for the finer points of technique and has benefited from the experience encapsulated in this volume. Well laid out and illustrated she was delighted to receive it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2007
If you do counted stitch work, you NEED this book!
Small enough to fit into a tote/handbag, inside the hardback cover it's spiral bound, meaning you can open it out on a flat surface without needing to weigh down the pages to stop it shutting.
It takes you from the absolute basics right up to complex techniques like creating a mitred folded hem or making ribbonwork roses. If you already have the first version, STILL get this one - it's got all new designs and several new stitches/techniques, and talks about up-to-date equipment like Ott-lites and hand-dyed threads.
Brilliant - this lady is a stitching genius and proves it time and again!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2008
I have only been cross stitching for 18 months, so I am a relative novice. The advice in this book is useful to me, but would also be helpful to the more experienced stitcher. I have only had the book for 4 weeks, but I have already learnt quite a few things and have been able to put these gems into use, making my cross stitching both easier and more professional.

There is a chapter covering 'Getting Started', which deals with fabrics, threads, working from a chart, etc. Then a chapter called 'Creative Options', which covers more unusual threads and fabrics. The final section is called 'Exploring Choices' and covers using embellishments with your stitching, e.g ribbons and beads. Other sections are an extensive stitch library, a chart library for the many lovely designs in the book, and 'Finishing and Making Up'.

The book lives up to its name being modern, and extremely useful. I would recommend this to anyone who does counted cross stitch.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
I bought this book as part of my wife's birthday present. She has always enjoyed doing cross stitch, but even so seemed over the moon with the book, taking it to show her friends and our daughters! This is despite the low price and it being only a small part of her present. I know nothing about cross stitch but I've given the book 5 stars on the basis of my wife's reaction!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2011
This book is great for those who are used to cross stitching, but I think it's a bit ambitious for those just starting out. Although it does explain about the tools needed and different threads, and there are some lovely patterns, there are some quite complicated techniques and patterns too, which are more suited to someone who has been cross stitching for a while.

Having said that, it is a great little book, which you could buy as a beginner and keep for when you are more proficient.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2010
For sampler-style patterns, this is probably a very good book, as it seems to cover every other stitch ever used as well as cross-stitch, but it barely mentions either wool as a medium or cross-stitch tapestries. It ignores the possibility of working from photos to produce a picture rather than a design.

It sometimes cross-refers to imprecise advice in other chapters (an example is needle sizes, where the advice comes down to using that appropriate for the canvas, without any advice as to what is appropriate to a canvas - sometimes rectified in the chart library). It is very good in describing different canvases, but would be more helpful if it correlated canvas size to needle and material sizes. Wool seems to need everything bigger than does cotton threads.

Finally Anchor seem to have changed their colour codes since this was printed, so the colours given in the chart library have changed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
A cross stitch book with some good examples and tips to making successful sewing projects. Worth having if you want to build up a cross stitch library.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse