Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2009
I bought this book to help me get back into watercolour painting after a 20 year break and it has very much inspired me to get painting again. The book is arranged so you can follow the techniques necessary to reproduce the stunning paintings that have an almost photographic quality to them. I found the tips on how to use masking methods and getting contrast and light into the paintings particularly valuable. I have also often had problems getting detail into the foreground of my paintings, this book gives you plenty of ideas to try. Another nice touch is the suggested colours to use which is often a big hurdle with watercolours as the way colours mix is not always as logical as you may hope. I can thoroughly recommend this book if you are into vibrant watercolours with a photo-realistic feel to them.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
Joe is a superb artist and makes water appear real, which a lot of others find difficult to do. If this book is aimed at beginners, then I would have liked to see more detail. An amateur artist with some experience, would find this book a gem. Perhaps he should bring out a book with step by step instructions for a novice painter? Some of the paintings in this book look very complicated, but with Joe's help become masterpieces in their own right. Unlike other artists who claim that the only way to achieve their goal of becoming an artist is to buy their brushes or paints etc. Joe does not and sticks to the stuff you can buy at reasonable prices. He says you need to stretch paper, but I disagree. If the paper buckles, then just wet the back and allow to to dry flat, maybe with a piece of glass on top to keep it flat. I use this method and know it works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2012
This book is really excellent, it has some lovely pictures and tips to create some really nice effects. As someone else has mentioned it doesn't 'hold your hand', out of the 50 pictures there are only one or two where it really gives instructions for the whole picture. Most of the time you have the picture there to copy and it gives you tips on creating certain effects, but not a step by step guide. This will suit some people but not others.

If you are a total beginner I would still recommend the book, as it has some of the nicest pictures I have found in a tutorial book so far and it's very detailed in the instructions it does give. I think there's something here for everyone, but if you're a beginner I'd recommend buying it alongside a more comprehensive beginner's book which will give you some basic techniques. This is more like a resource book of pictures to copy with a few tips. Also, most of the pictures in this book use masking fluid so you will also need that if you want to create the exact same effects.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
Happy with the purchase - promptly delivered. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
very interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2009
Excellent book and highly recommended for landscape artists.
Practical examples and tips. Covers reflections shadows and perspective.
Colour usage for various effects. Basic pallette. Reccommend for beginners and intermediate artists. Good buy.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2010
This artist is simply wonderful, showing you step by steps on the fifty landscapes, the artist show many tricks of the trade so to speak.
Its needs to be read all the way through before attempting any of the landscapes, it gives you a fresh ideas on the subject, and makes it all seem possible.
The artist must have worked very hard to compile such an informative book.
If you looking at painting your own work, and are stuck how to approach a subject say a group of trees in snow or a river bank, use this book.
its a book you will read more than once, I can assure you.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2010
I was so impressed by Joe's work in this book that it made me travel from Spain to UK just to attend a two days workshop with him.
Simply the best buy you can make if you love watercolour.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2009
Put together by an excellent artist, this takes you through various landscapes and shows how they are reproduced, I would recommend this title to anyone starting watercolour, its one to keep by for reference.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2012
The book as others have said is excellent and informative and is packed with a wealth of knowledge. The opening sections about materials and the like are great and there is also some useful drawing tips, perspective insights, washes and colour mixing info

But as a small warning to any raw beginner (Like me) the book doesn't 'hold your hand' step by step but suggests what you need to do in each stage by showing the end result your trying to achieve, with each of the 50 landscapes described over a single page with small illustrations for the main technique and a full page almost, showing the completed landscape. This is not a problem for those with more experience but for the 'newbee' it can lead to some confusion and the opportunity to grow your scrap paper collection!.

Great book to have ready though when you have a bit more of an understanding of watercolour medium.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)