Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 July 2007
I now own 3 books by Lee Frost which surprises me because I was not a big fan of the first one I received as a present (Photos that sell). This one however is much better in my oppinion because it concentrates more on how to take good pictures rather than what you should use.

First, forget the idea that this is a handbook as it's almost A4 in size. The first section of the book contains chapters on lighting, composition, focusing, colour and the darkroom (ok so a darkroom is not relevant to digital photographers but it is a short chapter).

The second section of this book is what I was looking for as a digital photographer as it has usable chapters on how to photograph people, landscapes, nature scenes and movement effects. By concentrating on the content of the images rather than the equipment used, Lee shows what makes a good photo, not just one that's technically perfect.

Reading this book inspired me to go out and take more pictures which is what a good photography book should do.
0Comment| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2006
Some photography authors have brought out 20 books over 20 years. The piblishers rave as if to say that's a good thing. I think it's bad. They either can't get their ideas across well or are milking the photography market to death.

This author isn't one of them. Lee Frost gives enough here to keep you busy for a lifetime. What a lot of authors would have devoted books to, Lee covers in a chapter. Warning, this book is intense. I re read the first two chapters three times before putting the book down for a day, there was just so many ideas coming out from those two chapters that I felt swamped.

This man is your friend. He has written a book that is so jammed packed with ideas and techniques that you will be swimming to keep up. If I had this book 20 years ago I could have done so much better.

In the forward he states how he'd buy mags and books to learn new things and was mostly disappointed, so decided to put together the kind of book he wished he had found when starting out. Oh yes Lee you did just that.

Excellent book, one that every photographer should have and for a lot of people, the only one they will need.

Forget the authors who bring out the same re vamped rubbish every year, and read this book, after your camera, it's the best investment you'll make.
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
Disappointing book as it is not stated clearly that, although this is the 2011 edition, it is in fact a reprint of a book first published in 2003 and therefore only film is used. For digital photographers, this book, if full of good ideas, is useless. Because of their age and original medium, many of the photos are of poor quality and I was left wondering how the hell this got into print - until I checked the printing history and realised what this book really was.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2008
The many positive reviews do not reflect how I have found the book.

If you are an amateur like me who wants to seriously learn how to take better photographs this is not a worthwhile book.

It addresses the various styles of photography (landscapes, wildlife, interiors, people) and makes you aware of numerous fundementals that exist in photography, but as the book valiantly wants to cover everything it actually teaches you little about anything.

Too little information, teachnique, detail or help is given on any subject and you end up feeling as if you've just read a closed book.

Compared to the other jack-of-all-trade offerings out there it is decent, but it still feels as if it could have been cut and pasted from anywhere.

If you want to be aware of the various fundementals of photography it will do that, but I don't think it teaches anything and you will be discarding it very soon.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2008
This is a great little book. Yes it does largely apply to film, but it doesn't take much know-how to translate the info into digital setting. The camera just takes the picture, after all, and it's the person behind the eyepiece who makes the image. Lee Frost gives very good advice, and this book is well worth the money. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2007
Whilst I blame myself for not choosing more carefully, I have only given this book one star because I feel that it is out of date in that it makes no mention of digital photography or processing.

There are over 200 photographs, all of which were taken on film and mostly on large format cameras. Nearly all involve long exposure and small aperture, using a tripod, cable release, and filters. There is advice on film selection, print-toning, hand-coloring prints, creating lith prints etc. in a 'wet' (as opposed to digital) darkroom. The author does take himself and his subject very seriously.

Of course many of the ideas and examples can be used to advantage by the digital photographer. Nonetheless the book is aimed at the serious film photographer who is willing to spend time in researching locations and then set off before dawn with tripod, selection of lenses, filters etc to get that perfect light. If that is you then the book may well suit you.

For people like me who simply want to take more interesting photographs with their digital camera, but without devoting the rest of our lives to the hobby, then there are probably better choices.
22 Comments| 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
Fabulously written and well appreciated. It was a well described book giving great ideas and ways of taking photos differently, giving new learning.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2012
Thanks very much. Great speedy service and a lovely book for anyone interested in photography. I would definitely recommend x
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2012
Excellent tips on how to improve your photography skills, and the book has amazing pictures too! Overall a good read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2009
it's an excellent source of ideas for taking better and more original pictures, shame that it's a bit old and therefore about film photography, which nowadays almost no one uses; I would recommend it nevertheless
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)