Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
33
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 June 2017
Great read. Well recommended for everyone especially those interested in taking the sport up.very informative. Great addition to anyone's library 5 *
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2007
If you are considering becoming a falconer and / or owning your own bird of prey or owl, this book is an essential read - a definate "must buy" before the purchase of one of these beautiful birds.

As a falconer, I particularly like Parry-Jones' personal touches to this book - I love her opinionated attitude (for which she is well known!)which makes for a rather refreshing book. In particular I applaud her for attempting to "discourage" the not - so - serious hobbyist who may be considering taking on a BOP - these birds are simply not for the casual bird or pet keeper who may be after the prestige of a falcon or the appeal of a snowy owl (Thanks to harry potter ) This group of birds require as much time and dedication as a parrot, dog, or child (Or moreso, in some cases!) Her appeal to the reader to consider this before purchase is fantastic.

The book is very easy to read and to pick up the basic knowledge of falconry, and has some great illustrations and photos. The book also guides the reader into the more in depth subjects of weighing, the falconer's knot, suggestions for beginner birds, hoods, aviaries, mews, jessing and so on.

So a definate must for the would be falconer. Though I would also suggest that no book can compare to actual practical experience with birds of prey before going ahead and buying one - an opinion shared by Parry-Jones. My copy of this book is now ragged!
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2004
Jemima Parry-Jones is considered to be one of the UK's leading falconers, as is her father, Phillip Glasier. She writes with a sense of authority and is the owner of the National Birds of Prey Centre. I believe she is now moving to the US but her great books are still here with us.
In this book, she describes the process of selecting a suitable bird of prey for the beginner and aims to help them avoid the pitfalls that many others have previously encountered. You are then guided as to the best methods of housing and training and are initiated into the art of hunting with a bird of prey, although this is by no means fully covered because it is intended as a book for the absolute beginner with no prior knowledge of the sport. Despite this, she can come across as being rather self-opinionated and therefore do not be surprised if you find yourself feeling rather insulted by the end of it as she can come across as being negative and attempting to discourage the poor novice. All things considered, I would not hesitate to recommend this book to anyone looking to enter the wonderful sport of falconry and train their own bird of prey.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2000
The book defines within the first couple of pages if you are the right person to take up the art of falconry, if you do continue to read, the dedication and devotion to the birds from Mrs Parry-Jones is conveyed across as not a passion but a law if you decide to take up the sport. A detailed account of every step to sucessfull falconry through the eyes of a master.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2002
IF you've ever considered taking up falconry then read this book before buying your bird of prey - please! Jemima Parry-Jones offers a no nonsense, practical (warts and all)insight into all aspects of this art. Those who think it's going to be easy will be reconsidering after reading her wise and sometimes caustic comments about the reality of buying and keeping a bird.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2006
This is a great book for an enthusiast. A few years ago it was my best Christmas present, and I read it from cover to cover many times. I believed avidly everything that miss Parry Jones said, and became her number 1 fan.
However, after working with birds for only 2 years, some of which are rescued, I have learnt that sometimes falconers get it wrong. The traditional method of trainnig a bird of prey is rigid and no good at all if you want a bird that comes to you because it wants to. Believe it or not, Jemima, birds have different personalities. They all react differently to the training method, as well.
So, whilst this book is great to have, because it tells you what birds are and what birds are not (they are (definitely!) not pets, and if you are to keep them they take up a huge amount of time and effort (and heartache!) to keep happy), it is not a bible. The bird is the bible. I have a buzzard who I consider to be far superior to her description, and to be honest I haven't encountered any bird who fits true to the descriptions. I have also met many birds that did not take kindly to being starved (not feeding the bird until it does what you want it to), and it has scarred them for life.
If you are truly interested in this subject, read up on the BIOLOGY of birds. Something like Nick Fox's Understanding the Bird of Prey is the best sort of thing. Read how they work, so that you know the boundaries. Don't read someone's account of what works for them.
11 Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2000
Anyone who keeps raptors and owls will know of Jemima Parry-Jones MBE. Mrs Parry Jones has assisted organisations worldwide to re-introduce birds of prey back to their natural habitat. The National Bird of Prey Centre in Newent, England, run by Mrs Parry-Jones is a really top-notch establishment demonstrating just how raptors should be kept and trained. There it begins, a book written by someone so knowledgeable who knows how raptors should be kept and trained. This is a great book for the beginner in the sport of Falconry and at a very reasonable price. For your hawk/owl's sake buy it in preference to the Lee William-Harris book, please!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
An excellent book bought for my sister in laws birthday on the recommendation of a serious hawker.
Supplied at a very reasonable cost and was delivered promptly.
I would certainly recommend this supplier to you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
This book was Ok I wanted to know more about Harris hawks. It mainly covers owls. But over all the information that it covers on the Harris hawk for a beginner like myself was adequate for my experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
I have just bought my first Harris hawk and have found this book to be more than useful, the hints and tips are priceless. More people should read this before getting any bird of prey
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)