Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
25
4.4 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2017
Described as in English language, came in German.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
A photographer well worth viewing and this book fits the bill.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2012
The cover shot is the best-known image of this amazing woman photographer's vast output. Considered against the state of her world,, she used her camera like a hammer to hit the Establishment with the truth about conditions around them. Her eye was brilliant at seeing the core of the situation in front of her. I wasn't aware of her work until now. I have gained another facet to my photo-vision. Her own situation was tragic enough, in itself, yet she ploughed on - literally. This is a case-study worth reading for the humanity it reveals. Get it. Read it. Study the pictures. Learn something new. Unforgettable.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2003
Dorothea Lange
Another one in the excellent Phaidon 55 series: this collection of 55 photographs accompanied by a short biographical text is a good introduction to Dorothea Lange's work.
Dorothea Lange is predominately a photographer of people. Even her landscape photographs depict the human influence on landscape: a bulldozed landscape later to be flooded under a dam, a house in deeply ploughed fields, people camping under a roadside billboard etc. Lange is known foremost for her photographs of American migrant workers during the Depression. The majority of the photographs in this book concentrate on people, especially the dispossessed. The book leaves me with a profound sense of dignity. This collection also contains the iconic photograph of the Migrant Mother & her children (sometime referred to as the Migrant Madonna) taken in California in 1936.
Her apparently documentary photographs have an elegance of composition that brings them far beyond simple recordings of the period. Equally moving is the series of photographs of Japanese Americans relocated into internment camps during 1942. For Lange there was a clearly political aspect to her photography. By using the camera she was recording and commenting on her contemporary environment and drawing attention to it to enable change.

The majority of the photographs included date from the mid-thirties to early forties. The later pictures share her same compassionate vision. As an introduction to her work I would highly recommend this small book.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2001
I love photographs as a way of capturing culture. This book gave a superb overview of USA during and around the time of the depression. My only knowledge of Dorothea prior to this was the "Migrant Mother" photograph on the front cover. I will definately buy more of these little and very inexpensive books, I just need to decide who next.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2003
This book is great value for money. Beautiful photographs from one of the best black and white photographers. Amazing portraits accompanied by text on the photo and the story behind the photo. If this an average example of the Phaidon series I will be buying a lot more!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
This is a small but handy book capturing some of the more popular images from Dorothea Lange's beautiful pictorial account of a dark age from America's recent past. I recommend anyone worrying about the impact of today's global financial situation to view this work. You may be able to glean some useful information, or, just wonder at the awesome beauty of these brave images.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2011
I bought this because it was one of Amazon's recommendations to me. The reviews of the book make it seem like it contains many photographs but in fact it contains just a handful of photographs. Instead, this is a book written for 7-11 year-olds about inspirational women. There must be a glitch in Amazon's system because this isn't a Phaidon 55. I should return it but it was cheap and I can't be bothered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
Is a book that should be at home for photo quality and why it is a classic. Although somewhat smaller
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
The book was good and had everything you would expect. My only dislike was the size of the book. The book is a square and it takes away from the photos with such a small size. But other than that it's OK!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here