Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
34
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

A beautifully produced book showcasing the work of Rene Redzepi's Copenhagen restaurant.

Stunning photography but try not to think of it as a cookbook but rather a starting point for
aspiring home chefs to explore the potential of the creative use of locally-sourced ingredients.

It's a heavy tome. Place it closer to the edge than the centre of your glass-topped coffee table!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2010
This book is ridiculously beautiful. You expect nothing less from Phaidon,
granted, but still, NOMA is quite something. Granted exclusive access to
NOMA archives, including diaries, team profiles, and even with a nice pull
out map of the Nordic region, NOMA is a definite buy for those who want an
inside peek into what was voted the world's greatest restaurant. The
recipes may not be for those who would rather beans on toast as they are
quite elaborate and imaginative. There are of dishes served with flowers,
one recipes involves cooking veal for ten hours (sleep, anyone?), and
another dish involves egg smoke. Sourcing ingredients may take some time,
but should not be a deterrent. As long as you know you won't find
Icelandinc Moss Seaweed in your local, erm, Iceland. But, but, but, NOMA
will inspire you and give you ideas, and still a lot of the recipes can be
followed. The pictures are very exquisite, and if you're aiming to impress
a date with your more delicate side definitely try out something like
`Steamed Egg White and Birch Wine, Wild Mushrooms' which contains
ingredients you should find on most high-streets, and went down a treat at
home last night. The book is quite big, and it's not bad for the coffee
table either, to persuade your friends that you really have advanced from
the days of pasta and pesto.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2011
I bought the book at last after many contemplations. Wish I bought it earlier. Many great ideas that are suitable for a pro kitchen, maybe need adapted to suit a busy enviroment and consistency.
What I find particulary great is the fact that the recipes are seperate on different paper. Text is not easy to read on high gloss photo quality paper. The reference from photo to recipe and vice versa is easy to use. More of these please.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2011
First off I do think that this book is a masterclass in food photography, recipes (and the writing of them) and landscape photography. The one area for me in which this, otherwise well crafted book, falls apart is the layout. Why on earth did they feel the need to have the photos in one half and the recipes in the other?! Fair enough, if you are going to put the name of the dish on the page as well (see Recipes from a 3 Star Chef Limited Edition for the more user friendly way of doing this), but no - I have to find a certain contents page and then flip back through, though to be fair I do believe the publishers were trying to create some sense of atmosphere and place through doing this.
But I should point out this is the only negative that I can take away from this beautifully crafted book. It really does take you to a time and place through the images of windswept Nordic beaches, and brilliantly natural looking food. It even inspired me to do a few dishes at work inspired by this book and Quay (both of which have consumed my time outside of work).
So to put this down, as some have, just because you can't get your hands on a few handfuls of sea buckthorn, is plain wrong. It is a wonderful book, which gently sweeps you along for the ride (even if you do have to flip a few pages every so often), that fully deserves the praise that has been heaped on it.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
I got this book, so excited to start reading it. I opened it and it was in German
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2010
Noma is one of those cookbooks I buy mainly so I can look at food produced by one of the most exciting and talented chefs on earth rather than actually cook lots of stuff from it. Many people will find the recipes contained within the book heavy going- the ingredients are often hard to come by and the techniques fairly advanced. Although, unlike some other cookbooks (The Fat Duck Cookbook and Alinea for example) at least some of the recipes can be attempted at home. For the price the book is good value for money with stunning photography of all the dishes. My only criticism would be it can be difficult to match the pictures to the recipes as all the pictures are at the front of the book and the recipes at the back. This is not a problem for books like Gordon Ramsey's recipes from a three star chef as it tells you the page number where the recipe is located. Noma does not-you have to find a series of contents pages which then tell you (a) what the dish was on page 100 for example and then (b) the page number where you can find the recipe for that particular dish. Apart from this I would have given it 5 stars.
11 Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2011
Yeah, I know there are recipes in the back of this book, but it seems more like a coffee table book than a recipe book. I haven't made any of the recipes in this book, and seriously don't intend to. After reading the recipe for sourdough bread (Bread, Butter and Fat recipe) and recognizing that they skimmed over the process a bit, I have no faith in any of the recipes. It seems to me that this book is design over function, i.e. I have to wonder if recipe instructions are truncated to ensure each recipe fits on one page. .
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2015
Beautiful pictures but all a bit hip and meaningless ;-p You essentially can't cook from this book - rather you can take inspiration and in that respect its really annoying that pictures of a dish and the recipe are not on the same pages so you end up searching around for everything. Also its huge. You need a big house to keep this big book - or you can use it as a coffee table?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
Genious book. Not so much because of the recipes and such, but the pictures are just excellent! This is more a book that shows art, so if you want recipes, straight forward, steps 1,2,3 you got the wrong book. Other than that it's just great.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2011
Having waited nearly 6 months for my Amazon pre order to arrive I will give a my review:
Noma is fast becoming a household name. The restaurant won the top spot in the San Peligrino World's Best Restaurant awards in 2010, ousting El Bulli from first place. Then there was its recent appearance on Masterchef the Professionals where we were given an insight into the restaurant's ethos of using highly seasonal, often foraged produce and the exquisite precision of their presentation.
Head chef René Redzepi has created a truly unique restaurant that is clearly destined for long term greatness. With the recent release of his cookbook, Time and Place in Nordic Cuisine, maybe we can try to recreate some of this greatness at home.
It's an impressive book that requires two hands to be picked up. There is an introduction by the artist Olafur Eliasson and Redzepi then explains the philosophy behind his two-Michelin-star restaurant. This is followed by over 200 mouthwatering, full page images of the restaurant's dishes, the ingredients and local suppliers. Finally, the book is rounded off with 90 recipes that were created by Redzepi and served at Noma.
The photos are the main attraction in my opinion. I find it a little strange tha lay out of 1st half photos 2nd half recipes but the presentation of the dishes that Noma produces is breathtaking, it's like artwork that you wouldn't really want to destroy by eating. As you'd expect from a Copenhagen-based restaurant that is known for its use of local produce, some of the ingredients in the recipes will be a little hard to source in London, but I'm certainly going to give it a go.

Time and Place in Nordic Cuisine probably isn't the sort of cookbook that you'd reach to one evening for dinner inspiration, but it's a joy to browse through. I'd put it in the coffee table cookbook category.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£22.75
£40.37

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)