Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
16
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 December 2011
I was fortunate to receive this brilliant book as a present. I have always wanted to know more about the history or Art but never had the time to research it. I am enjoying the book so much decided to write my first ever review to encourage others to buy. This book works at all levels for beginners (like me) upwards. Fantastic as a reference guide, coffee table book etc. I have placed it on dining room table (as very large and very heavy) and enjoy leaving it open and reading a couple of pages a day. It has become a real talking piece. Great idea and would highly recommend to anyone wanting to learn about art who gets frustrated because cannot take it all in when visiting a museum and do not always understand what the art is about.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2011
This book is expensive, but it is worth every penny. It covers art from cave paintings to the present day, set out in an innovative and accessible way. Every page is packed with high quality illustrations with text for each such as you might see in a gallery. I absolutely recommend serious art lovers to buy it. It is not a coffee table book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2011
Yes, it is big and heavy - so it is good for a coffee table.
Yet, its printing quality is just mediocre, paper is very thin, most of illustrations are of postcard-(or even stamp)size.
Very small print. For some reason locations of artwork are placed in the index at the end, which is just inconvenient. Some regions (like Russia, for example, except the avangarde) are either not covered at all or represented by just one piece.
About 1/3 of the book is dedicated to art since 1950. this section covers all possible "isms" so as a result certain Damien H enjoys more space for himself than Titian...
22 Comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2011
If you are a fan of Phiadon's The Art Book you will love The Art Museum.
It is not cheap but it is fantastic value.Save up all your Xmas and Birthday tokens for it, you won't be sorry.
Ideally you will need a space where you can leave it permanently open to enjoy a different page everyday.
It is original, authoritative and bloody gorgeous to look at.
If all my art books were washed away I would rescue this one.The Art Museum
33 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
The Art Museum is a book of superlatives; at first sight it doesn't stop to amaze you; you want to keep on reading and looking; the book is mostly worth having for its illustrations, some very large; so far, so good, but then you turn a page and find an illustration of a painting or a mural you know and you are horrified by the poor colours, in some instances really so poor that you do not believe your own eyes. Also the selection of works is as far as I am concerned, in some cases quite surprising. In one "museum" I would have expected other works than the ones chosen, in another "museum" I would simply have expected to find more artworks "exhibited". I understand that these expectations are subjective, but I must say that the quality of some of the colours is objectively very, very poor.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2011
This book appears to have been published with the principle "never mind the quality feel the width" , the reproduction is no better than poor and the layout and general content is not entirely what it should be, if I had paid the listed price it would have gone back , It appears to aspire to be coffee table book just fails to reach the mark , if you are interested in a good History of Art reference book then "Gardner's Art through the ages" is a far better in every way .
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2012
The Art Museum is a book that all who are interested in art in its many forms should have. The text and accompanying pictures are excellent and typical of Phaidon's quality. Obviously, to cover such a vast array of art, the book is certainly a hefty tome and requires a strong arm to lift it!

A book that will be used in this household for many years to come. All round, excellent!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2011
This is a fabulous one stop reference for art lovers and art students alike. The quality of photographs and detail is first class and you can see why it has taken years to put together. Well worth the cost and will be used not only for reference for many years but also just to enjoy looking at.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
this delightfully heavy book is available in the phaidon store at the designer outlet village in Swindon until 31-01-14 for £40. I agree that some of the reproductions are not first class, but there is so much to enjoy. This is a book that I will continue to enjoy for years to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
Fantastic, HUGE, beautifully produced book with quality photos. A delight for any art fan and for anyone wanting to see the history of art in paintings with very readable descriptions and historical information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)