Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£24.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 22 May 2007
Surely one of the most beautifully designed cookbooks of the year, Pork & Sons is winner of the French Cookbook of the Year 2006 and has now arrived in English here and in the US. The book is nothing short of a love story - one man's love for the way of life that encompasses everything porcine.
The book is illustrated throughout with glorious earthy photos and quite charming cartoons depicting pigs in "interesting" situations. All the chapter headings and recipe titles are handwritten. What we get from this is a general feel of well being, of a rustic, back-to-basics approach to cooking, celebrating flavour and tradition - though Reynaud isn't afraid to break a few taboos.

Pork & Sons contains some 150 recipes ranging from a chapter on black pudding through to some fairly exquisite looking 'party' dishes (read 'restaurant style'). Interestingly, Reynaud isn't afraid to cross the codes - he matches Spanish chorizo with mozerella and basil or French ham with piquillo peppers, where Iberico ham would be the obvious choice.

This review appears in full on my blog site - details in profile (just click my name)
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
Probably a book for the devout and dedicated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2009
I came across the French version Pork & Sons whilst doing a charcuterie course at Auberge de Chassignolles in the Auvergne. As professional cook and pig lover I cannot say that I have seen a better book for range of country style pork recipes, with everything from black pudding, apple, potato & fennel tart to stuffed pigs ears and a few wild boar recipes and a dozen or more terrine besides. The sausage in brioche recipes is inspirational.
What Pork & Sons lacks is recipes to make the sausages and cured meats used in the recipes although with a bit of wit and Google you can make your own, which is probably for the best, since this is a book for the artisan cook rather than the TV dinner cook. If Reynaud writes a book about making sausages and salami then I'll be first in the queue since there is no reference of similar quality.
Pork & Sons is beautifully designed and bound so it would make an excellent present for any foodie.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2007
Having just reared and slaughtered our second lot of pigs this book is everything I need to explore the countless possibilities with pork - beautifully presented and written, everytime I pick it up to glance at a recipe I find myself still reading it an hour later enthralled.
Check out the black pudding and autumn fruits. All in all a stunning book which should be on every pork lovers kitchen table
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2009
If you're looking at this book, you must be into your food. To buy this book, you must love pork. It is an incredibly comprehensive book about pigs and pork.

A lot of the recipes are fairly challenging and many require access to parts of a pig that normal folk would struggle to lay their hands on.

It is a great read and full of brilliant photographs. A real guide to how to use all of the pig except its squeak!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
Fantastic cook book. Living in France we tend to eat a lot of pork as it is the best value meat here. Finding different things to do with pork was a struggle until I got this book. Also I suspect that some of the ingredients are more readily availble here than in the UK-Pork cheeks (wonderful solid meaty chunks -try to source then in the UK if you can) and wild boar. Another winner from Stephane-my 4th cookery book from him.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2010
This is a wonderful recipe book. Highly recommended in every way. Every page makes you want to eat delicious pork!!! Brilliant
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2010
Fantastic book. Usable, provocative and a cover that will amaze you - more cook books should be made in the texture of the content product!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
A lovely publication the quality of which I have not seen for some time.
Many of the recipes are ideal for using some of the known parts of the pig,
at a time when these are becoming more popular. Would highly recommend
to the pig and pork enthusiast, especially nowadays when pig meat is such
good value for money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
a book by stephane reynaud a very good book witch i will read over and over i will enjoy this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)