Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
13
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£24.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 May 2003
I really only bought this book because I was doing an essay discussing two works by Waterhouse. Although before buying the book I was a growing fan of his work, this book has really increased my appreciation of the artist. It really is a treasure. The reproductions of his work are incredible, every time you study the paintings you are able to see new things you hadn't noticed before.
But, as all good books should, the joy does not lie in the reproductions of the paintings alone. Trippi has done a fantastic job in writing about Waterhouse. Trippi states that he spent years working on this book, and that he hopes it results in people understanding why he holds Waterhouse in such high regard; I really think he has achieved this. You can tell that this has been produced by someone with a great passion for their subject. And it has cetainly increased my own regard for Waterhouse.
This is a great book, for both those who wish to approach the subject as an academic, and for those who love looking at beautiful pictures, while maybe also wishing to learn something about the artist who created them.
0Comment| 74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2005
THE ideal book for a Waterhouse lover!!!! Great illustrations of his most famous paintings and great interpretations of their symbolism! A must have book if you like Victorian, Pre-Raphaelite and Symbolist art!!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2005
THE ideal book for a Waterhouse lover!!!! Great illustrations of his most famous paintings and great interpretations of their symbolism! A must have book if you like Pre-Raphaelite and Symbolist art!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2010
I thought this book was excellent, when purchasing i only thought it would had been a rather small book but when it was delivered to my house it was very large. The picture quality was very high and the pictures themselves were very good and had all of his images which i found very useful along with the information about the artist himself.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2011
Love the artwork of J W Waterhouse. Bought this book instead of the (recent) Exhibition guide. Very informative, packed with some wonderful images and more
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
Any lover of the paintings of J.W. Waterhouse should buy this book. It has a very clear and interesting text with beautiful colour illustrations of many of Waterhouse's paintings. The design of this book is a work of art in its own right.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
I bought this book as a present, hoping it would be as good as the reviews I'd read. It is indeed all that I had hoped for.The paintings are beautifully reproduced and the detail in Waterhouse's work is fascinating. I cannot comment on the text as I had to give it away, but if anyone would like to make me a present of this lavishly illustrated book........!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2010
Bought this as a birthday present for Lady Haversham. She was most impressed by the quality of the prints and text.

A must have for Waterhouse fans.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2012
This book is beautifully illustrated, very well written and obviously impeccably well researched. It was bought as a gift, the recipient has been more than inspired by it; I have never known him so interested in the text as well as the illustrations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
Love love love this book! Over the moon. Thank you Amazon!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse