Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 7 December 2016
Martin Parr is a kind of Goya of the contemporary world of photography. He's middle class but he's quite arbitrary in his subject matter and that's one reason why I like his photography. In other works the middle class and the rich are given a right drubbing. In this work Parr captures the essence of modern Englishness: Loutish, obtuse, oafish, pretentious, idiotic, uncouth but somehow endearing. But Parr's real forte is in capturing these qualities in people from all walks of life from all over the world, revealing them to be universal. This is modern life in all its mindless stupidity. It makes me proud to be English and proud to be human.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2012
A lovely book. Nicely printed. Unfortunately has been bound in China with a glue possessing all the adhesive qualities of Labrador slobber. Avoid.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2001
A real gem for the (secretly) patriotic. This book conjures up images of the traditional Old Blighty we all know from our earlier days. Brilliant!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2009
Martin Parr creates some amusing images here , his over saturated style isnt for everybody but he remains an iconic british photographer
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 December 2016
This book has no text, so the pictures really do speak for themselves. With his eye for detail, and ability to hone in on the day to day images of Englishness, this took me back to my childhood.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2014
Vivid colors, wonderful "kitsch" (some photos are a masterpiece). However, this is not the absolute masterpiece of Martin Parr. The best one is The Last Resort
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2000
Martin Par casts an ironic eye over what is English. A highly enjoyable book it is a quirky tour round several towns in England. The book consists only of photos apart from a cover note by Gerry Badger and a list of were all the photos are taken. Which it's self is playful in the fact that many of the pictures betray little of there location
There appears to be themes running through the book such as flora displays. By homing in on specific aspects and within those the details of life an overall impression of England is built up. I have 'read' the book several times and I find new things every time. Several images are already firm favourites of mine.
I haven't read any other books of this type but I would recommend this to anyone looking for a different view from a different style of book.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2014
Fantastic and insightful, as ever with Martin Parrs excellent work. Well worth adding to your collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2014
great reference book for GCSE photography
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2015
Another present.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)