Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Martine McCutcheon Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
11
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 June 2017
A good retrospective of her work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2016
All good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
Perfect!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
Amazing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
Just as expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
I am a fan of Woodman's work and the book shows her work, on quality paper, so one can see her progression and realise what could have been. If you are not sure this is for you, watch the documentary first. I would have liked more info on Francesca herself. The highbrow analysis at the beginning is a bit too long for my personal liking. However!! Do read it and check out all the names mentioned, thus meeting all sorts of other artists.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
I wanted this book for what seemed like ages and then when i finally had some spare cash i ordered it and was so excited i just could not wait for it to arrive. I was not disappointed, its an amazing book made to a very high standard its one to keep. Woodman's work is breath taking, google her name and you will get a taste of what this book has to offer. Every page is a new and wonderful surprise, she was a creative genius!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2011
This is an excellent introduction to the work of Francesca Woodman. The reproduction of the photographs is excellent(for instance those recently on display at the Victoria Miro Gallery did not better them). The text is very good at providing context and background. Enigmatic images that stay in the mind. This book will leave you wanting to see more of the photographs that Francesca Woodman produced during her all but too brief life.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2008
As it is very easy to dwell on the artists untimely death and the romantic myths surrounding her suicide and her bourgoise lifestyle, this book refreshingly chooses to focus instead on the great body of work left behind, an approach Woodman certainly deserves.
It never fails to shock me how incredible her work was for such a young age- bold brave, poetic, sublime and truely beautiful images.
Art students and lovers have been awaiting more material on Woodman for some time and this book really is a treasure. Its a thorough book brimming with artwork and worth its weight.
The writer draws on many areas of art ciritcsm and theory, a rich insight to the complex readings of her work whilst also revealing Woodman's own sources of inspiration. Drawings on ideas of self-representaion, the essay provides ciritical and important ideas not in terms of Woodman but the genre as a whole and subsequent artists/ideas (eg Cindy Sherman etc.)And yes, there are images like these now flooded in art schools, but that is precisely because of the inspiration these images have left behind, Im not saying she was revolutionary, but she was certainly creating thses images at a time when indeed the art schools were a long way off being filled by students expressing these aesthetics and ideas!
This one of the most in-depth essays and sets of images Ive ever seen presented on an artist- and if you, like other reviewers don't like or understand the concept of art criticism then the artwork alone is worth every penny!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)