Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
8
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 14 June 2013
I was very lucky to catch an exhibition of Chris Killip photos as the Photographer's Gallery in London and rather than buy the expensive exhibition book I took a chance on Pahidon 55 book. I say 'took a chance' but the fact is each Phaidon 55 has been excellent in terms of reproduction and care. This contains some of Killips best and most moving work. The man is genius and one of the UK's best photographic talents. An essential part of any collection of contemporary British photographers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2003
This Phaidon 55 book, gives a fantastic overview of a great photographer. It contains a good selection of Chris's photographs in chronological order, and if these thought provoking pictures weren't enough, there are excellent notes accompanying each picture that make this book an interesting read/ reference. The form factor is a bit small for my liking but that's my only complaint.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2010
I purchased the book after borrowing it from the local County Library. The service was excellent. However, I didn't realise that the (Books 0n Books) series were an A5 reprint of the original and therefore the impact of the publication was not as expected.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2012
In Flagrante has been described as one of the most important photography books of the 1980s, on account of the impactful and resonant nature of the photographs.

Killip thrived on the political conflict of the 1980s. His work is confrontational, at times dark, and always challenging. Sean O'Hagan writing in The Guardian said,
"It is black-and-white, gritty, hard hitting and politically provocative - the photography critic, Gerry Badger, correctly described In Flagrante as `taken from the point of view that opposed everything Thatcher stood for'." (The Guardian, 2012)

It is generally regarded as an important record of life in the north east of England during the Thatcher years. Characterised by high levels of unemployment brought on by policies of de-industrialisation, the period was a dramatic era in social history. An acute sense of melancholy pervades Killip's photographs which are careful personal observations, rather than calls to action. Killip's work helped to establish the now familiar tradition of documentary photography located in the context of fine art.

My disappointment is in the presentation of one of the most important documentary photobooks. This is a copy of the original, and loses much of its impact through its scale and proportions. I would dearly pay more for a substantial work that does justice to Killip and his work. That said, it's all there!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2011
Beautifully produced little handbook. A good size and price to give as a little gift as well as to have to hand. The quality of the reproduced photos is excellent. It is particularly good in that it has examples from a range of his books. The text alongside each photo is particularly good - and interestingly does not appear in the original books that I have seen.Those who are Chris Killip fans to whom I have given this book are absolutely delighted with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
As you might expect from a book that costs so little, the quality of the cover is not brilliant, but the information and pictures inside are extremely good. I had recently seen Chris Killip's book 'Pirelli Work' and was interested to know more about him as a photographer and also his previous projects. This is a great overview of an excellent photographer's body of work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2016
Love the photos. They are too small, but you get what you pay for. There is a problem reading the text - the gutter is too small and it's a real effort to hold the book where you can read the text in the middle of the double spread.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2016
Excellent North East photography following his exhibition at the Peoples Museum in Manchester.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)