Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 26 July 2017
Great reference book with snippets about a range of photographers. Not comprehensive and some of my favourite photographers are not here and some of my less favourite ones are. It tends more towards 'art photography' a term I have an issue with as photography does not have the depth to really be art. Important yes but not as art.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
This book contains excellent photos but they are ruined by poor printing. Ansel Adams "Moonrise, Hernandez, New Mexico" is printed with such high contrast you can hardly see any detail in the image.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
Everyone should see these iconic photographs. Important moments in time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
Superb, quick delivery, great product, well packaged, great price - can't ask for more !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
print too small
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2009
Wonderful directory of pictures and a pool of visual inspiration (500 images!) The book is simply set out for reference use. Each page contains an iconic, notable or innovative picture, arranged alphabetically by photographer, with a few paragraphs of discussion about the image and/or artist.
I would have liked to have more to read but have I missed the point of this book? Anyway Its still interesting non the less.
Personally I have mastered the basics of taking a photograph and now intend to embark on studies and am really interested in discovering those photographers/images that have inspired and influenced the art-science over the years. This book compliments my rapidly expanding photography literature library and its reference format will support studies.
I am quite disappointed by its physical size. Its a fairly chunky pocket sized book (6x5inches), so is somewhat smaller that I hoped - please note that the font is tiny and would be a struggle for some people. My eyes are fine but am straining to read the text.
The print quality is really good so does most of the images justice despite the small physical size of the book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2008
This wonderful wonderful book has inspired me many times during my college years. Containing an image from almost every great photographer since the first photographs were produced, and countless contemporary artists, it is sure to offer something to warm, amuse, shock and amaze you everytime you turn the page.

I would most definately reccomend this book to any students, professionals, or those with a keen interest in the medium to buy this book, as it will serve you for many years to come!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 10 REVIEWERon 13 December 2014
Phaidon is a specialist art book publisher, and they do publish some wonderful books.

This is an updated version of a bestseller, `The Photography Book', published in 1997 - a wonderful book described by `Practical Photography' as `'The most important photography book, ever' and by `Amateur Photographer' as 'Possibly the best reference book of the year. No photographer should be without this on their bookshelf'.

That original book is a wonderful reference book and I treasured it when I bought it. "Pictures of famous events such as the Royal Wedding and the first landing on the moon are here, next to familiar shots by masters of photography such as Bill Brandt, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Cecil Beaton and Robert Doisneau. There is fashion, sport, natural history, reportage and society portraiture, as well as social documentary and art. The 500 photographers featured range from William Henry Fox Talbot and Julia Margaret Cameron to Larry Clarke and Herb Rittz, from Robert Capa and Josef Koudelka to Nan Goldin and Pierre et Gilles. Arranged alphabetically by photographer, each full-page image is accompanied by an illuminating text which gives a useful insight into the work and its creator, as well as extensive cross-references to others working in the same field or the same style. Glossaries of technical terms and movements and a directory of museums and galleries are included to provide a fully comprehensive and self-contained volume."

This is an expanded and revised edition of that book - there were 500 illustrations in the original; now there are 563. The original contained 512 pages; the new version contains 576.

The Observer described the original as: "'Lush collection of images... By arranging the 500 plates in alphabetical order there are, of course, a number of uncomfortable contrasts, the clearly staged positioned hard by pieces of traumatising reportage. But that only adds to the impact...'

Listed alphabetically by the photographer's name, each page contains one photograph by that photographer, a brief narrative and cross-references any other similar photographers in the book.

This is a great coffee table and reference book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2011
Great book for student and hobby photographers. The selection of images introduces the reader to a variety of work by famous and unknown photographers. Good starting point for more in-depth exploration of photographers' work.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)