Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 November 2015
Excellent intro to art and artists, but written essentially for children and young adults in a style I found faintly irritating.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2012
I love the way the author has written this book. Although I haven't finished it yet, he writes in a style that anyone would feel comfortable with. I feel as if he was trying to avoid any pretentiousness at all. He clearly states that art is to be enjoyed by everyone and what one person appreciates in one piece of art, is not necessarily what another does, or even has to. If you want to understand the thinking of the early artists who painted on caves, or why the Egyptians created their individual style of art then read this book.My daughter has also read this and wants to read it again after I have finished it. Great book, great read.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
A very well written book, that gives an eclectic view of Art. This was one of 'text books' for 'A' Level Art in the 1960's. I recommend it be read by all who are interested in a general understanding of Fine Arts!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
This book purports to be the story of art and not the history of art. The book is highly readable as the author does not use technical or idiosyncratic terminology. It embraces architecture as well as art and demonstrates their interdependence as well as the political background that influenced the art of the day..
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I've only started reading this book, but I really appreciate that the author has set out to explain and explicate art that's displayed on the same page as the description. He explains in his prefaces that this has always been his aim, despite typesetting headaches. I think I'll like the rest of it, too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
Finally got the book ! Good value and quality !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2017
Big thick book. Was daunted at first but turns out it's extremely well written and very interesting. Would commend for those wanting a solid art history grounding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
All good.I bought it for my daughter who is studying History of Art.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
Great book, completely worth it's price, print is amazing! All art lovers should have it on shelfs and read it through.
review image review image review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
What a book. First read it 50years ago whilst in hospital. The best book on art ever.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)