Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
84
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 October 2000
Only a fiver for all this information! The pictures are glorious and some of them are a revelation. Don't believe the bit about "no information" either: each picture has an informative caption describing the work, the artist, and their importance. There is also a useful glossary that doubles up as a concise history of art.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2001
This is a well-informed book, thoroughly researched and beautifully laid out so one can leaf through it at random, letting one's eye linger over the many visual treats the book holds between its covers, or quickly flick through it in one go until a particular picture takes one's fancy. It mixes the well-known with the obscure, such as Roy Lichtenstein's In The Car (which has been an ad campaign favourite of companies on both sides of the Atlantic virtually since its 1963 creation) and Rene Magritte's Treachery Of Images (one of the artist's lesser-known but still very striking works). It is informative about each featured artist, giving a little biographical information, such as family background, when exactly in life the artist started painting, what their social circumstances were and how this affected their creative mindset, if at all. It is a very well-balanced book, giving equal space to the stars of the art world, such as Magritte and Da Vinci (it's a sign of the book's strength that Mona Lisa is just another highlight.) as it does to lesser-known artists, such as Lichtenstein. In each case, the painting, rather than the artist, is the star.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2004
The reason why i bought this book was as it was on my university book list. I'd passed the book many times in bookstores yet never stoped to look at it.
Now AM i GLAD it was on the list!
This book is a must have for any art student or anybody who has the slightest interest in art. It is easy to cross reference artists, it provides brief yet concise information upon the artist, their characteristic style, and to top it of a full colour image of a characteristic / typical piece of the artist.
Its size means it can be taken anywhere and will fit in your handbag :) and has kept me amused on many bus trips.
You must be crazy not to buy it at this price!
22 comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2002
In this book there are examples of every kind of art you can think of! It's majorly inspiring! If you ever thought you were not interested in any kind of art, I can assure you you'll find something you'll love. Just because its an art book doesn't mean to say you can put it down easily!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2005
Sadly the large editions of this series are just too expensive for my budget. What a great idea to bring out a small edition for about 1/3 of the price!
The pictures in the book are excellent, considering it's size. A wide range of genres are included. Most of the page taken up with full colour photograph with information above and below.
Although, of course, you do lose something with the pictures being smaller this is the same with any book of photos of art - they can ever compare to the real thing. But then that is not the intention of a book.
A must for any student studying Art, and anyone interested in looking at the art.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a beautiful and inspiring book to flick through. It is perfect coffee table material and great to dip into at odd moments. The quality of the paper is really good, as well as the reproductions of the art inside. This is a wonderful overview of some of the greatest art and artists that the world has seen. Simply stunning.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2011
Plus Side

-Small so quick to read
-Covers quite a lot of artists

Minus Side

-Only covers one piece of work per artist - some great artists deserve much more than this
-Not actually that much depth on each artist
-Not much pre 18/19th century art
-Heavy bias towards artists from the American and European continents (only 3 Asian, really?!)
-Lots of relatively unknown artists are included
-The book is arranged by artist name in alphabetical order, in hindsight I think I personally would have preferred a book that went through different styles of art chronologically
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2007
I have many art books, but none as used and flipped through as this book.

It is easy to use as a reference book and would always be first on my list.

With great colour prints of Artists work, a brief history on each Artist and

an important example of each Artists' work.

It is a great book for students at an affordable price, and handy size.

GREAT BUY!!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2000
This book is great for people who like art(or even if you don't). There is nearly every artist you can think of, it's very informative and the paintings are beautiful. You can spend ages just flicking through it and the pages smell good too! Definitely worth buying.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2016
This excellent book is now a little out of date, as it was first published in the 1990s. However, it includes all the good stuff up till then in a highly informative and useful format... Alphabetical order of artist, a representative image for each with a brief bio and description, plus links to art movements and other related artists. Excellent glossaries of art terms and art movements.
I also have the paperback 'pocket' version of this book. I must say that comparing the two, there are some big differences in the reproduction colour in about 10% of the images, where the hardback version seems to be lacking a green/yellow channel. I've seen 3 copies of the hardback and they are all like it.
If your eyesight is good - buy the pocket version because the colour reproduction is more reliable. Alternatively, buy the updated version which I believe includes 21st C art, but is a lot more expensive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)