Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
35
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 24 July 2017
Fantastic book and the seller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2010
I received this book as a birthday present from my husband. It is totally amazing and very inspirational! Full of stunning pictures too.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 February 2009
I have bought this book for my mums birthday because she is a big history fan but an even bigger fan of jewellery. She has several Royal Jewellery books already but this attracted my attention because it combined both of her "loves".

I am not at all disappointed with the book, it is fabulous. The photographs are clear and informative, I am sure she is going to love it.

My friend thinks that this book would make a brilliant "magazine, coffee table" publication.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
A rare attempt to comprise the whole history of jewelry, however featuring just document studies and sporadic large-format illustrations that casts too little light on symbols, patterns and decor underlying the essence of any design. A casual reading that may suggest some ideas but gives very few clues for real research. E.g. the Mughal Jewellery(!) section covers only 2 pages and 4 photos, giving no essential terminology (like obligatory "kundan", "meenakari", "jadau" etc.) Good for beginners, inane for professionals.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2011
Really stunning book. Loved the layout and the detail. A must for jewellery students. Wish it was double thickness and there could have been more
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
This book covers thousands of years of jewellery making. Beautiful photographs which are not only wonderful to look at but inspiring to those interested in making their own jewellery. The text is clear, describes processes and history and you can dip into the book at any random page and instantly be fascinated.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
This is a lovely book which beautifully reveals how jewellery has changed over the years. There are lots of photographs which are good quality and the text compliments them well. I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone with an interest in jewellery or history
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2008
I found this to be a very beautiful and informative book.Lavishly illustrated with stunning photographs,most of which are in colour,it traces the history of jewellery through 7,000 years from Ancient Egypt and Western Asia ,through Greece,The middle East,India,Japan and Africa to 20th century Europe, drawing predominantly on The collections held at the British Museum.Although I'm sure It must be useful to those with far more knowledge and expertise of this subject than mine( which is minimal,)It is an extremely well written and enjoyable history and I am sure will appeal to anyone who loves visiting these wonderful collections or who just has an interest in beautiful jewellery.
0Comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2010
Excellent value....massive period coverage...loads of photos....very informative. Excellent looking book too...great on coffee table or as a gift.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
this book is very informative about the history of jewellery - it has plenty of pictures so is inspirational for making jewellery
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)