Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
13


on 7 July 2014
This is a somewhat earnest account of a complex but hugely talented illustrator, famous for his ' saucy postcards'.

I never felt that the author gets inside Donald McGill and I am still not clear exactly how he worked with the numerous publishers who, frankly, ripped him off most of his life.

The real story of this fascinating period of social history and the huge popularity of these simple postcards (selling in their millions), has - I suspect - still to be told.

Despite my quibbles, buy this book - if only for the many wonderful examples of McGill's art that it contains.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2014
The saucy postcards, like marmite, you either love them or hate them, but this book looks at the vast amount of work produced by this artist for postcards, his life and work and the humour of the age. A book for the postcard collector, art lover and humour lover. Great book .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2013
Second hand [as advertised] but the book it'self in superb condition, informative and entertaining account og Donald McGill's life with lots of reproductions of his famous 'naughty postcards' ... well worth the money. Packaging and delivery - superb.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2015
Delivery really quick and impressive.and parcel hid well. Brilliant book and well worth the money. Cannot fault anythin. Very impressed. 10 out of 10 for service and quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2015
I am extremely pleased with this book,lots of good information, showing some of the earlier postcard's of Donald 's I have only started collecting the postcard's this year, I would love to know if there is a catalogue showing Donald Mcgill's postcards.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2017
A book about somebody who was a family name - great postcards
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2015
Very pleased with my book.It is like a brand new copy. It arrived swiftly and I enjoyed reading it. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2016
A great way to bring back wonderful memories of the fifties & sixties seaside holidays
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2015
Pictures very sweet and funny at same time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 December 2014
expected it to be in better conduction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse